just rooted, phone turning off

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by cool username, Feb 26, 2010.

  1. cool username
    Offline

    cool username Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Where your C&H Sugar is made, CA.
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just rooted a few hours and and I've had this happen three times. Ill be doing something on the internet or in the market and ill press home and my screen goes black. The notification bar is still showing. Then it turns off and I have to turn it back on..


    ??
     
  2. 52brandon
    Offline

    52brandon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
    are you only rooted? Did you flash a new ROM? Did you overclock? How did you root?
     
  3. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Are you running any of the following:

    Alternate home app,
    Virus program
    Launcher 2
    Task killer / manager

    You get the drift. Look at your apps
     
  4. cool username
    Offline

    cool username Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Where your C&H Sugar is made, CA.
    Ratings:
    +0
    I followed the videos on droid-life.com, and flashed the rom it told me to.. no overclock. I'm only rooted.

    Noob to this stuff...
     
  5. cool username
    Offline

    cool username Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Where your C&H Sugar is made, CA.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Launcher 2 and astro..
     
  6. 52brandon
    Offline

    52brandon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
    So I'm guessing its droidmod 1.0? Are you running live wallpapers?
     
  7. cool username
    Offline

    cool username Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Where your C&H Sugar is made, CA.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes and yes. Should I go back to regular wallpaper
     
  8. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    It's Launcher 2. It will not run worth a hoot on anyone's droid. Change to stock home and see if your problem goes away.
     
  9. cool username
    Offline

    cool username Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Where your C&H Sugar is made, CA.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok thanks. Ill go back to home++, never had problems with it.

    Hope that works
     
  10. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Get rid of LW too. They work some what with a few custom roms. Otherwise, they don't work.
     
  11. 52brandon
    Offline

    52brandon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
    I'd say I'm 90% sure just going to a regular wallpaper will fix that. LWPs are very hit and miss for me...
     
  12. rsdroid
    Offline

    rsdroid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm having a similar problem. Rooted last Sunday, and running BB v.1.0 and overclocked at 800 mhz, never higher, with lower power saving settings.

    What's happening is it's just shutting off completely and pressing the power button doesn't work. I have to do a battery pull. I was good for the first few days after rooting, but the last three days, it's doing this 4-5 times a day. If it does it at night, my alarm doesn't go off in the morning!

    It happened only twice in the 2 and half months I had it before rooting.

    I haven't installed any new apps recently other than the ones from rooting, SetCPU, TempMonitor, Terminal Emulator, etc. Also, I haven't seen any excessive temps from overclocking. I wonder if I got a bad update on an already installed app? Especially since it didn't do this the first few days after rooting? I really have no idea.

    Any help would be so appreciated! I love my Droid rooted and would hate to have to go back to stock over this! I don't know what to do.
     
Search tags for this page

i'm rooted but now phone powers off

,

rooted android phone keeps turning off and on

,

rooted phone keeps turning off and on