Just rooted, need some help

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Aimshootdead, Dec 11, 2010.

  1. Aimshootdead

    Aimshootdead Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys, im looking for some expert help here. I just rooted my phone today and im not quite sure on how all this works. I got a couple of apps for rooted only but my main problem is the wireless tethering. I really need it and i cant get it to work. I need a custom kernel? something with the ROM? im just completely lost and do not know what to do. I don't want to mess up my phone but its backed up anyway. I have Setcpu, but it doesnt go over 800MHz because i do not have a custom kernel. How do i get a custom kernel? what do i have to do tot he ROM? how can i get my wireless tether to work. Please, please please please! help me! im at this college and they block all gaming ports! i need this wireless tether A.S.A.P!!! Thanks so much!
     
  2. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    :welcome: to DroidForums!
    What are you wanting to tether?

    DroidForums junkie!!
     
  3. jjhiza

    jjhiza Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try ROM Manager for ROMs and kernels. They have a pretty good selection. As for the tethering issues, I had some myself. I used wireless tether for root users, and couldn't get it to work until I turned off the account manager option.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  4. Aimshootdead

    Aimshootdead Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well i was using PDAnet and then my friend told me about rooting like 3 weeks ago; did some research, finally did it today and now im here. I want to tether my droid wirelessly so i can play my games on my computer lol. Its for my computer
     
  5. Aimshootdead

    Aimshootdead Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thing is, im complete noob. It truely is sad lmao.
     
  6. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,162
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Okay, first off what version of Andy is your Droid rocking?

    Second, when you installed SetCPU, did you tell it to detect frequencies?

    Third, and very important, HOW DID YOU ROOT?
     
  7. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    +1! Andy?? Hahaha!!!!!



    DroidForums junkie!!
     
  8. Aimshootdead

    Aimshootdead Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  9. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,162
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Okay, then you're gold because that gave you SPRecovery. You now have unlimited access to screw up, er, with your phone! :D

    In SetCPU hit the menu softkey and then Device Selection. It will have a house. Do not ask me why. Hit the house! Hit it! BOOYA!

    Err, okay. Now tell SetCPU it's been naughty. Don't worry, it'll respond well to this kind of treatment. Tell it that the only way it'll get back into your good graces is to Autodetect Speeds Recommended. This will bring up a pop up box. How dare it backtalk you! Show it who's boss by pressing the Ok button! It'll tell you that it's been a good app and can it now overclock your CPU plzkthx. Reward it by ramping your speeds up to the max! :D
     
  10. Aimshootdead

    Aimshootdead Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    well this only allows me to go to 800 max, it wont go any further lol (your crazy btw) so whats next?
     
  11. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,162
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    To go over 800 you need to flash a new kernel and then you might have to go through the whole "Autodetect Speeds" thing again.
     
  12. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,162
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    That's the little green Android dude's name.
     
  13. Aimshootdead

    Aimshootdead Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I still need my wireless tether to work, and a kernel for that to work correct? so how do i flash a kernel and what would be the best kernel for wireless tethering?
     
  14. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,162
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    First off, download and install the latest version of the app linked to in my signature. Secondly, what exactly is the problem you're having?
     
  15. Aimshootdead

    Aimshootdead Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I downloaded all the necessary apps, i have Setcpu, Rom manager and everything else. But everyone says i need a kernel to get my wireless tether to work, and that's what i don't know how to do. My tethering doesn't go above .4 kbps and it doesn't come put up my computer. Im still on the original rom and kernel i think
     
Search tags for this page

how to play league with a phone tether

,

pdanet can't get on league of legends

,

playing league of legends on verizon wireless usb port

,

playing league via tether

,

when i tether i cant log into lol

,

wifi tether cant connect to league of lehends