Just Rooted - Downloaded 1st ROM, Now I need you....

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by SHAK3R, Feb 17, 2011.

  1. SHAK3R
    Offline

    SHAK3R New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    On D1 and just rooted about a week ago. I'm sitting in my work van with some time to kill so I downloaded the Ultimate Droid rom and curious what exactly to do next.

    I've download a few suggested apps (ROM Manager, Titanium Backup) but still unsure of there exact purpose.

    Can I install the UD rom directly from ROM manager, do I need to rename the rom to update.zip, best way to back up my phone before I proceed and anything you feel like telling me.

    Thanks
  2. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    I am also in my work van, but at the end of lunch.

    If you rooted using the first link in my signature you can use the first post in the second link in my signature to flash a ROM.

    If you didn't, you will need to flash a recovery first. In this case I would wait until you are home before you don't have a phone to use.

    Titanium backup backs up all the programs you have installed so you don't have to wait for Google to reload them all when you install a new ROM.

    Do some more reading in link 2 in my sig and you will be fine.

    MAKE SURE YOUR PHONE IS CHARGED TO 100%!! Very important!!

    Sent from my GimpDroid (Installed by RZR).
  3. SHAK3R
    Offline

    SHAK3R New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Sweet! That is the method I used. I followed MotoCache's guide. It does seem a little harder to do everything just on my phone. Ill wait till I get home to try everything. I'm sure ill have some questions in the future.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  4. rmart88
    Offline

    rmart88 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Blacksburg, VA
    i would also read the first post in this thread. it will guide through how to use Titanium Backup to backup before and then restore your apps after a full wipe and flash.

    I would also suggest wiping everything at least twice, i wipe three times just to be safe. I have had issues of parts of old ROMs showing up when I only wipe once.

    Good luck and welcome to the world of ROMs!!!
    dancedroid
  5. SHAK3R
    Offline

    SHAK3R New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Thanks for the input so far. I'm in the process of backing everything up, but I have a question about that.

    After I rooted my phone like I said I downloaded a few suggested apps. One being ROM Manager. After I downloaded it I did begin to mess around with it. I didnt mean to but (I think this is the correct terminology) I flashed the ClockWorkMod Recovery 2.5.0.1 so when I booted my phone in recovery It wasn't the same directory list as described in the guide suggested in the 2nd post of this thread.

    PS

    Alright the backup process has finished. I now have a directory in the clockworkmod folder named "Backup" with a folder with the date of the backup and 6 files in it. I guessing if I ever need to go back to this stage I would just create a zip with those files in it and name it update.zip
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2011
  6. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    No.

    The recovery program (clockwork in this case) deals directly with that folder. Do not zip or change the folder.

    You would use the restore function in cwmr to reflash that backup.

    Also, ROM manager isn't "recommended" by myself, but its up to you.

    Just always have a good backup before doing anything.

    Sent from my GimpDroid (Installed by RZR).
  7. SHAK3R
    Offline

    SHAK3R New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Ok. I decided to go the route of not using clockwork and flashed alternative recovery. Its says currently using SPRecovery 0.99.3b but I'm having a problem. Now when I try and boot into recovery keystroke "x" and power nothing happens. The Motorola logo appears and nothing else happens. I have to do a battery pull to turn the phone back on.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  8. bendystrawboy
    Offline

    bendystrawboy New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    797
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    if you can't boot into recovery go back into rom manager and reflash recovery.
  9. SHAK3R
    Offline

    SHAK3R New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Well I tried re-flashing the alternate recovery (SPRecovery 0.99.3b) again and the same thing happens.

    Edit
    Ok, I re-flashed the ClockWork Recovery 2.5.0.1 and I'm able to boot in that recovery. Still not able to in SPRecovery.

    My question now is, is Clockwork recovery really that bad?
    To install a rom using it should I use the recovery or the app to do it?
    Does the zip file need to be named "update"?
    And I need to click clear data/factory reset and also separate option of clear cache.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  10. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    You just have to flash alternate a few times to get it to stick. Clockwork isn't bad. Its ROM manager that I'm not fond of.

    You can flash a ROM either way!

    Sent from my GimpDroid (Installed by RZR).
  11. SHAK3R
    Offline

    SHAK3R New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    So what would you consider a few times? I flashed the alternate recovery about 6x in a row and about 12x overall and still wont boot in sprecovery. I guess I'm stuck with rom manager and clockwork for now.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  12. winner00
    Offline

    winner00 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
  13. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    I agree. It is a little "advanced" though.

    Sent from my GimpDroid (Installed by RZR).
  14. winner00
    Offline

    winner00 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    It has all the same features as CWMR and more. Its not that hard to learn.
  15. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    No, I agree, but for someone who just rooted 2 days ago, I'm sure its a little overwhelming.
  16. WallyIAm
    Offline

    WallyIAm Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Frozen Tundra
    This might seem minor, but I think it's worth pointing out that flashing a rom does take some time. Your phone will be out of commission during the process. Something to think about if there's any chance the boss might need to call you ;)
  17. SHAK3R
    Offline

    SHAK3R New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    The time has come, cross your fingers and wish me luck.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  18. BL4Z3D247
    Offline

    BL4Z3D247 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Isn't that why we have voicemail? =P

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  19. SHAK3R
    Offline

    SHAK3R New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Assistance

    Alright from the guides/steps I've read these options never were part of them.

    I booted in Clockwork Recovery.

    Wiped Data
    Wiped Cache

    Installed .zip from SDCard (UD Rom)

    Everything seems to of went well but after installing the zip from SDcard I'm left with 4 options.

    -appy sdcard:update.zip
    -choose zip from sdcard
    -toggle signature verification
    -toggle script asserts


    From what I read I thought the option to reboot phone should be there. Not sure what to click or do right now. Still in recovery with those options up, Looking for assisantance. Thanks in advance.
  20. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    choose zip.

    find the zip file that is UD3.0 and select it
Search tags for this page

i downloaded a rom now what?