just rooted dinc2 is there a way to get 4g?

Discussion in 'Droid Incredible 2 Hacks' started by seneye, Jan 5, 2012.

  1. seneye
    Offline

    seneye New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i just rooted my dinc2 and i have a question... is there a way to get 4g? i was looking at the liquid smooth rom and it said it had 4g data?
  2. syndicate0017
    Offline

    syndicate0017 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,010
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    No. The Dinc 2 doesn't have a 4G radio.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
  3. seneye
    Offline

    seneye New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    is it possible to buy a 4g radio and switch them ?
  4. syndicate0017
    Offline

    syndicate0017 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,010
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    No. There just isn't one made for the Dinc 2. Even if there was, I wouldn't recommend it.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
  5. seneye
    Offline

    seneye New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    agh tobad. but i have another question. if i would like to overclock..i have to get a kernel right? do i have to get a different rom than just the stock one? and actually how do i make stupid apps like google maps to stop running in the backround?
  6. PereDroid
    Offline

    PereDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,121
    Likes Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    No need to over clock this phone....

    Sent from my Incredible 2 HD using DroidForums
  7. seneye
    Offline

    seneye New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i kinda just wanted to try to overclock cause i just got the toshiba thrive tablet and would like to overclock that but i wanted to try on my phone first
  8. PereDroid
    Offline

    PereDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,121
    Likes Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Now that is a good reason to OC. To learn.
    Go man go.


    Sent from my Incredible 2 HD using DroidForums
  9. seneye
    Offline

    seneye New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so do i have to get a rom first before i get a kernel that has OC?
  10. syndicate0017
    Offline

    syndicate0017 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,010
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Nope. All you need is an overclockable kernel.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
  11. bendystrawboy
    Offline

    bendystrawboy New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    797
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This thread is hillarious...and you want to practice overclocking on the more expensive of the two devices...

    You do realize overclocking is just a menu setting of most roms....its not like there's a physical routine which needs practice.
  12. seneye
    Offline

    seneye New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    And I just install the kernel the same as a rom? and after i install the kernel, does that clear my phone and have to restore it with a backup? or does installing a kernel not matter and leaves the phone as is?
  13. seneye
    Offline

    seneye New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im due for a new phone and have insurance on my phone yeah yeah it voids the warranty i understand all that. I don't have insurance on my tablet so I want to root something I don't care about incase I make a mistake? thus its practice for rooting my tablet. Its a pretty simple thing to understand. :blink:
  14. thaDroidz
    Offline

    thaDroidz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,062
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    neptune
    Make sure the rom is for the dinc2 liquid has multiple devices, you must have downloaded for wrong device

    posted tomorrow using the space time continuum app on my D1...
  15. syndicate0017
    Offline

    syndicate0017 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,010
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Yes. Just flash the kernel zip in clockwork. No, it will not wipe your phone. And you should not wipe data/factory reset either. A kernel doesn't need a fresh install.
  16. seneye
    Offline

    seneye New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Alright, thanks guys
Search tags for this page

4g on dinc2

,
can rooting make incredible 2 4g
,

dinc2 4g

,

dinc2 4g radio

,
is it possible to make incredible 2 4g
,

rooted dinc2