just making sure I have this OC thing right

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by bmb0205, Mar 9, 2010.

  1. bmb0205
    Offline

    bmb0205 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just making sure I'm doing this right before I do anything dumb. I have Bugless Beast V.6 (which I have read BB should support OCing, correct?)

    If I want to OC past the underclocked 550mhz, I need to download SetCPU from the market, and select "auto detect" to OC then do it?

    And with BB V.6, I am curious as to how high I should OC without risking messing up my phone. I KNOW OCing at all is a risk, so I want to keep it on the safe side. 550mhz is stock underclocked, so I was thinking 650ish was safe but will up my performance?

    Thanks guys
     
  2. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +0
    Basically ROMs have been OCing for a WHILE now...

    But unfortunately I believe that BB ROMs are NOT OC'd by default. At the top of Pete's thread did you see where he referenced ChevyNo1 and AdamZ links? Those are the kernels you need to apply before you can OC...

    And another thing, yes you need SetCPU. But, 650MHz isn't even an option to OC to lol you're gonna have to go a little higher than that!!

    Usually the speeds are 250, 550, maybe 600, 800, maybe 900, 1000, 1200, and maybe 1250

    I would recommend AdamZ's kernel....just put the rom.tgz file on your sdcard and boot into recovery...then choose Install....then choose Install ROM from sdcard...and pick that file
     
  3. bmb0205
    Offline

    bmb0205 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    edit*

    Am I correct in being scared to run 800? haha. I just REALLY don't want to fry my phone by accident by using apps or games, but I still want that boost with the OC

    I'm going to go with adamZ's custom kernal (boot.img) 2.6.32 http://alldroid.org/threads/15431-Custom-Kernel-(Boot.img)-2.6.32-Updates-*02-17*
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2010
  4. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +0
    You are *fine* I never OC 800MHz and I've did it since OC has been available if taht tells you anything. I've stayed at 1+GHz. Just try them out yourself and see how your phone reacts.

    And make sure you use the Profiles feature in SetCPU to underclock when the phone is asleep, and whenever it gets to hot etc.

    Another app to use with OC is TempMonitor. So you can check the temps...
     
  5. bizfox
    Offline

    bizfox Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not natediddy, but you really have to decide which kernel works best with your Droid (everyone's Droids are different). I would say, OC up to 1000MHz with a min of 550 is a good setup for starters. Also, set up your profiles on setcpu and download the full paid version of tempmonitor (be sure not to exceed 45C!... I don't remember the exact link, but I read that figure in a thread somewhere). As long as you keep tabs with your temps and your phone doesn't experience FCs or the like on a regular basis, then you're good to go. I personally use Chevy's 5-slot 1.0GHz kernel, and it keeps my device working top-notch efficient while staying cool :) I tried AdamZ kernels before, but they kept my temps up to 45C consistently... not good. This is from my own experience with my own Droid, though... so your personal observations may differ. Bottom line, experiment away and enjoy!

    Edit: Try a little higher than 650... at least 800-900...
     
  6. bmb0205
    Offline

    bmb0205 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. bmb0205
    Offline

    bmb0205 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Fixed!!!! *phew*

    At least I know I'm using SPrecovery and making my backups/restores correctly :D
     
  8. Pagaldesi4life
    Offline

    Pagaldesi4life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    bm, i am having the same problem, i updated to bb v0.7 and that worked fine. then i installed one of chevys kernels and when i rebooted after the installation, i was stuck at the M loading screen. what can i do now?
     
  9. cupfulloflol
    Offline

    cupfulloflol Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +23
    Do a SPRecovery restore and/or try a new kernel, maybe a slower one. Some phones don't play well with all kernels.
     
  10. Pagaldesi4life
    Offline

    Pagaldesi4life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    so i tried a few of chevys kernels, none of them seem to work for me, i still get the same problem.
     
  11. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Ratings:
    +17
  12. Pagaldesi4life
    Offline

    Pagaldesi4life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    yep i did, even tried adams kernels too, still the same problem. :(
     
  13. bmb0205
    Offline

    bmb0205 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Now im afraid to download any other kernels :(
     
  14. Pagaldesi4life
    Offline

    Pagaldesi4life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    fear not, it finally worked for me. it took a couple more tries but i got the ChevyNo1-1.1Ghz-OC-5slot to work. finally a day of messing around with the phone it WORKS! now lets see if this pays off. i def do feel like my phone is on roids and i am only running at 800mhz.
     
  15. bmb0205
    Offline

    bmb0205 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine works now and I am using Chevy's 1.1Ghz 10 slot at 900Mhz. Are you using TempMonitor? I'm curious if there is a free way to check the temp