Just Joined - Tethering Question

countryfireman

Reaction score
Obviously I have a Droid X or I wouldn't post in this forum, but I'm looking for a free app in order to tether to my Windows Laptop & or my iPad 2. My X is not rooted and that is not an option for me (I want to keep my warranty).

Any suggestions of an app that is free and will allow my laptop and iPad to use my X as a hotspot?

I tried PDANet once, but never paid and the trial ran out, not sure how well that works compared to other apps out there.

I am a newbie so go easy on the hazing, just trying to learn and benefit from those that know way more about this stuff then I do.

dbst

Reaction score
I think the only 100% free tethering app is Wireless tether, so you would need to be rooted... but you could easily unroot your X in a couple of minutes if you needed to take it to Verizon

Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App

Technoman

Reaction score
Obviously I have a Droid X or I wouldn't post in this forum, but I'm looking for a free app in order to tether to my Windows Laptop & or my iPad 2. My X is not rooted and that is not an option for me (I want to keep my warranty).

Any suggestions of an app that is free and will allow my laptop and iPad to use my X as a hotspot?

I tried PDANet once, but never paid and the trial ran out, not sure how well that works compared to other apps out there.

I am a newbie so go easy on the hazing, just trying to learn and benefit from those that know way more about this stuff then I do.

All of the free tether APP's are limited in function. You have to pay to get full function. If you root, there are more options, but I believe they all cost some money also.

OP
countryfireman

countryfireman

Reaction score
So, would anyone like to explain what rooting is and safety of not losing everything I already have on my X?

Plus how do I root and unroot?

Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App

qman66

Reaction score