Just installed GPA14, cannot gain root access

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by kilroywhoa, Apr 11, 2011.

  1. kilroywhoa
    Offline

    kilroywhoa New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm using SuperOneClick to root, but it keeps saying that the SU test failed after gaining root access was supposedly successful. I had GPA12 previously, but when I installed GPA14, I wiped the data (because I was an idiot and didn't bother reading that I didn't need to do that). BusyBox/Superuser/anything that requires root won't work properly.

    Since I'm a noob at rooting, I really have no idea what to do now. Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. hyperdude
    Offline

    hyperdude Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +0
    If I'm not mistaken, if you run Superuser (or maybe download it again from the Market), it will say it couldn't find root and will download a .zip to the root of your SD card that you can flash in recovery that should put SU back in.
     
  3. kilroywhoa
    Offline

    kilroywhoa New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Right. Tried that zip several times, but to no avail. Keeps saying the file is bad and aborts. I also can't seem to uninstall Superuser. Is that because of SuperOneClick installing it or the GPA14 build?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  4. juhde
    Offline

    juhde Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +3
    First, you are supposed to wipe everything when flashing a different build, data too.

    Second, from what I understand you're saying you flashed gpa14 then tried to use a 1clickroot app?

    If this is the case then you're doing it wrong. Custom roms are already rooted, you only need to "root" your phone once unless you flash a stock rom.

    Reboot into recovery, wipe everything, and reflash gpa14.

    After that just set up your phone and install your normal apps. You're done.

    Sent from my Droid
     
  5. kilroywhoa
    Offline

    kilroywhoa New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    http://www.peteralfonso.com/2011/03/download-stock-rooted-gingerbread_21.html?m=1

    That's not what happened. As I said before, I didn't need to wipe the data, as instructed by Peter Alfonso for people who already had a prior GPA build. Except I DID wipe because I didn't read the instructions beforehand.

    He didn't say anything about rooting again, so I'm thinking that when the 14 build installed, something went wrong, which was out of my control.

    I'm going to try installing again, but not wipe the data first.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  6. juhde
    Offline

    juhde Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +3
    Well regardless what happened, like you said yourself in the first post, you're a noob at this.

    If peter said something about not wiping data I'm sure it was a isolated question. Wiping everything clean is the universal step one when something goes wrong, any good modder will tell you that. I always wipe boot, data, cache, dalvik cache, and system unless its a kernel flash or a patched build (like gpa15 betas). Hell I'll wipe dalvik cache once a day sometimes if my phone starts running a bit slow.

    installing different builds over each other with out wiping is the number one rookie mistake made, and causes more weird things to happen than I can name.

    but what ever, do what you want. I've only been at this since the phone was released in 2009.

    Cheers and good luck.

    Sent from my Droid
     
  7. kilroywhoa
    Offline

    kilroywhoa New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow, man. Thanks for not reading my posts correctly, as evident by your replies. For someone who's trying to help another out, you're awfully arrogant about it.

    I restored the GPA12 build, then flashed 14 again, except this time I didn't wipe and now everything seems to be fine. I'd thank you for your help, sir, but you really didn't help at all...

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  8. juhde
    Offline

    juhde Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +3
    Actually you did exactly what I told you to do, re install the rom.

    Sent from my Droid
     
  9. juhde
    Offline

    juhde Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +3
    Btw I wasn't being arrogant, I was just trying to impart some hard earned knowledge to a self proclaimed noob.

    Sent from my Droid
     
  10. GeLopez
    Offline

    GeLopez Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    683
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    Ratings:
    +8
    Perfect example of why I sometimes I'm reluctant to help noobs
     
  11. kilroywhoa
    Offline

    kilroywhoa New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dead wrong. You told me to wipe,

    which was my mistake in the first post. Below is what I did to resolve the issue:

    This was exactly what Peter Alfonso says to do. From that link I provided, "If you are already on a GPA build, there is no need to wipe"

    This proves that you didn't bother to read Peter's instructions in the link, yet somehow thought you knew how to install the build.
     
  12. juhde
    Offline

    juhde Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +3
    No need to argue with you, you obviously know what you're doing.

    Installing 12 then 14, that's not a waste of time at all.

    Be sure to post on a sticky telling everyone to never wipe data before they flash a new rom or they'll lose root.

    Good luck with you android endeavors.

    Sent from my Droid
     
  13. GilmourD3
    Offline

    GilmourD3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, since you're not listening to the OP, maybe you'll listen to Peter Alfonso.

    That came from this link, which the OP already posted.

    Peter Alfonso: Download: Stock Rooted Gingerbread (Android 2.3.3) ROM Update GPA14

    I highlighted the important part, which is actually what helped the OP.
     
Search tags for this page
cannot gain root access
,
cannot gain root access android
,
cannot gain root access s4
,
gaining root
,
gaining root access fail s3
,

superuser cannot gain root access

,

superuser gaining root access fail

,
superuser not responding gaining root access