Just got an OTA on my MAXX

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by rotordroid, Jan 11, 2014.

  1. 2razrmaxx

    2razrmaxx Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    +1 on this

    My bad I assumed you knew ota would not change your plan.

    I thought you were talking about a phone upgrade
     
  2. MrTommy

    MrTommy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Carson City, NV
    Ratings:
    +8
    I guess I misunderstood the question too. The question addressed data plan and upgrade, and I didn't think it was referring to a phone upgrade, but the software. Nevertheless, questions resolved... :)
     
  3. drtj80

    drtj80 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Nashville Ga
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great info on this post! I have an original Razr. I am on the unlimited plan & use PDAnet/FoxFi daily for Xbox & computer. I have noticed since the OTA update was d/l (have not installed it) to my phone it charges extremely slow. I can usually run 3 Xbox Live accts & laptop w/o lag or a battery problem before d/l was done. Now I can have my phone on charge and it will still drop to the point of shutting down if foxfi is running. Has anyone else had this problem? Also, if i install the d/l do I have to root it to continue using FoxFi?
     
  4. Soccerref12

    Soccerref12 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Ratings:
    +65
    Could someone confirm the correct procedure to upgrade? As I understand it, you reboot into Stock ensure you have VooDoo Rootkeeper, run the upgrade, enable VooDoo Rootkeeper again and you are good to go. Is this right? Of course make all the backups (Nandroid, and SS) before doing anything.
     
  5. ford7379trucks

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    THIS F&*^!*& UPDATE BRICKED MY PHONE. Verizon is sending me a used one for free. took it into store with techs they said its done. was not routed.
     
  6. ford7379trucks

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    same as mine. will not reboot. Verizon tech spent a whole min on it befor he ordered me a replacement.
     
  7. MrTommy

    MrTommy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Carson City, NV
    Ratings:
    +8
    Let me get this straight. Have you guys with the "bricks" rooted your phones? Mine and my wife's Maxx's are not rooted, and we finally did the upgrade - without any problems - so far...

    And when the Verizon 'techs' determined that your phones were DOA, was there any talk about changing your data plan (if you still had unlimited) because that expired?

    We've had the unlimited plan for years and it scares me to death to even think of what might happen if we have to step foot in a Verizon store - :blink:
     
  8. MrTommy

    MrTommy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Carson City, NV
    Ratings:
    +8
    So drtj80, you're saying you're having all these problems, and you haven't even installed the upgrade yet? That doesn't make sense, but I guess you never know with these phones. I sat with the 'upgrade' uninstalled for a few days before I finally took the plunge and noticed nothing different. I wouldn't expect anything to happen if I didn't install anything. Our batteries don't show any difference in life since the actual upgrade. We're still using our trusty old Droid RAZR Maxx phones. I hear some folks talking about the KitKat OS upgrade causing problems, but that's not what we got. I'm wondering if the old Maxx's will even allow the KitKat upgrade when that comes out. I really don't care, cuz I'm sticking to these phones until they "wrench them from our cold, dead hands" - ha.

    I can't address what you need to do if you're rooted. Don't know anything about that.
     
  9. ford7379trucks

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    no talk of plan change. the guy was not surprised my phone was bricked. I think hes gotten a few lately. im not rooted. just ordered me another one and im setting it up right now.
     
  10. MrTommy

    MrTommy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Carson City, NV
    Ratings:
    +8
    Glad to hear it's seemingly going easy (as easy as it can be when your phone turns onto a boat anchor...). And nice to hear the Verizon guy didn't broach the topic of data plans. I think I may be over-stressing on this, but it's the one thing I fear most. Losing our unlimited data plan. I hear they're going to eventually phase all these plans out at some point and force us all into teared level plans. UGH! :(
     
  11. ford7379trucks

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    they already have. you cant get unlimited date. i signed the day be for the dead line almost 2 yrs ago. im not renewing my contract. we will see how long i keep my unlimited
     
  12. Soccerref12

    Soccerref12 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Ratings:
    +65
    Then it's "Hello T-Mobile"

    Sent from my Droid RAZR Maxx using TapaTalk 4
     
Search tags for this page

98.72.165

,
98.72.165 update
,
98.72.165.en.us update
,
98.72.165 root
,
android update 98.72.165.en.us
,
droid razr update 98.72.165
,
razr maxx 98.72.165
,

update 98.72.165.en.us

,
what is 98.72.165.en.us
,
will foxfi work on droid update 98.72.165