Just got an OTA on my MAXX

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by rotordroid, Jan 11, 2014.

  1. ckaelin

    ckaelin New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey Gang! I haven't been on here in ages. I too was prompted with this update. I am rooted and have been simply so I could use Android Tether. I am reading now about foxfi which allows tethering without root. You guys are really happy with it (foxfi)? If that was the only reason I was rooted should I just do the update and start using foxfi? I guess I Can always root again. Thoughts? Thanks!
     
  2. skipbl92

    skipbl92 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +5
    If tethering was your only reason for root then yes I would do the update and purchase pdanet+ w/foxfi.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. hynderson

    hynderson New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Land of sunshine, Qtips, and huge bugs.
    Ratings:
    +6
    Why purchase when you can use the entitlement hack?? I updated, re-rooted and finally got my wifi hotspot back to working flawlessly. NO need to purchase anything. Speaking of, I'm posting this via my laptop ran by wifi hotspot at the moment.
     
  4. ffontaine

    ffontaine New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +5
    Not to kick a dead horse but. Has anyone that has done the upgrade have unlimited data and does pdanet w/foxfi still work OK. I'm wondering if there is a check for unlimited data.

    Thanks
     
  5. baldcoder

    baldcoder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I applied the OTA update today and now my phone is completely dead. It "boots", but I can't see anything on the screen. It shows the Motorola Logo, but after that, nothing. When I tried to do a recovery using the keys to access the boot menu, I get a little green android on the screen with an exclamation point over him. Is there anything I can do to get my phone working again?
     
  6. baldcoder

    baldcoder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just got off the phone with Verizon tech support... replacement phone is on the way!
     
  7. 2razrmaxx

    2razrmaxx Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    If you hold the volume up and volume down buttons at the same time you can get past that screen and then reboot with the next menu
     
  8. MrTommy

    MrTommy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Carson City, NV
    Ratings:
    +8
    My wife and I still have the unlimited data package, and we finally took the plunge. We did the 'upgrade' (pretty much a misnomer in my book). No change in our data package, and (the biggie for us) FoxFi is still operational.
     
  9. 2razrmaxx

    2razrmaxx Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    What do you mean no change in your data package? Do you mean you still have unlimited after the upgrade?
     
  10. kooshie

    kooshie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hudson Valley
    Ratings:
    +0
    SuperSu

    I had rooted using RzrBlade Utility and once the update happened it of course removed the root. I still have SuperSu installed on my device (and my husband's) I'm not able to uninstall it. I already had purchased FoxFi but when the update broke it I decided to go ahead and root. Mobile HotSpot was the only reason I rooted. I don't care if I root again since FoxFi works but I'm not sure what to do with SuperSu, will it be fine just sitting there on an unrooted device?

    Also, if I open the stock HotSpot app it doesn't check the status the way it did prior to rooting my device. Does this mean I didn't lose the hack for the free HotSpot. Felling a litte confused:blink:

    Thanks for any help.
     
  11. MrTommy

    MrTommy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Carson City, NV
    Ratings:
    +8
    What I mean is pretty much what I wrote. The 'upgrade' in question here, and that's not to KitKat, hasn't done anything to our plan. We've had the unlimited data plan for years, since back when we had LG enV2 phones (2008). We went to the Moto Droid when it came out (still on the unlimited plan), and then to the RAZR Maxx, still holding on to our unlimited plan. And now, we're due for new phones (according to Verizon anyway) but will pass on that as long as possible. I can't imagine what 'new & better' would look like. I've heard FoxFi gets the boot when (and if) you upgrade to KitKat. So far, I'm not even sure KitKat is going to be available to our 'old' RAZR Maxx phones - which would be fine.

    We checked our Verizon account on-line this morning and it still shows 'unlimited', as does my on-the-phone usage total. So, we're not going anywhere near a Verizon store until we're hauled in there kicking and screaming and holding on to the bush outside the door - :wink:
     
  12. sherri

    sherri Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Ratings:
    +14
    An over the air upgrade will never change your data plan, as you are not doing anything to your phones contract.

    The only time an "upgrade" will effect data plan is when you upgrade physical phone using "discount" pricing (meaning you aren't buying phone at full price...)

    Sent from my XT912 using Tapatalk 2
     
Search tags for this page

98.72.165

,
98.72.165 update
,
98.72.165.en.us update
,
98.72.165 root
,
android update 98.72.165.en.us
,
droid razr update 98.72.165
,
razr maxx 98.72.165
,

update 98.72.165.en.us

,
what is 98.72.165.en.us
,
will foxfi work on droid update 98.72.165