Just got an OTA on my MAXX

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by rotordroid, Jan 11, 2014.

  1. jp233

    jp233 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +1
    OG RAZR, stock OTA ROM from the original Jellybean roll-out, rooted.

    Last night downloaded Voodoo Rootkeeper, did a su backup, then temp un-rooted. Let the new 98.72.165.XT912 upgrade install, then restored the root with Voodoo and all appears fine. I still have root. I'll test out wifi-tether_root later but mutiple apps (Ti Backup, Voodoo, Root Checker basic, supersu) all say I have root.
     
  2. doniago

    doniago Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    Ratings:
    +34
    This isn't KitKat.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. jp233

    jp233 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yeah, the 98.72.165.XT912 update is still Android version 4.1.2

    I haven't compared to the Baseband s/w versions from the previous OTA release, but I believe they've been updated, as well as the kernel and build version/date obviously.

    anything that could help with reception, is welcomed. I get terrible reception in my own house, in what should be an absolute 4G rich environment.

    Battery has been the same today, since i did the update last night. Haven't noticed any change in battery performance, but I keep tabs on it constantly so will report back if there are issues.
     
  4. DROIDX2TN

    DROIDX2TN Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    I've used FoxFi extensively since the update. Works great.
     
  5. Summersond

    Summersond New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes it still works. I used mine today.
     
  6. Summersond

    Summersond New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Foxfire still works for me after the upgrade.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. MrTommy

    MrTommy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Carson City, NV
    Ratings:
    +8
    Thanks to all you guys who've responded to the FoxFi question. I feel pretty safe now. :icon_ lala:
     
  8. Galeyn

    Galeyn New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Carson City, NV
    Ratings:
    +1
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy S4
    WooHoo!! Upgrade went smoothly, and FoxFi works perfectly. Thanks to you all who blazed the trail and took the time to respond. :icon_ banana:
     
  9. moset

    moset Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rural South GA
    Ratings:
    +15
    Is anyone seeing any benefits from the upgrade?

    Could someone please post a screen shot of the about screen with baseband version.

    Sent from my XT912 using Tapatalk
     
  10. MrTommy

    MrTommy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Carson City, NV
    Ratings:
    +8
    Frankly, the only benefit I see is that nothing has changed. Especially on the FoxFi front (which was a great concern). It's not KitKat, and it's not an attempt to flush out apps that Android doesn't like. Not this time at least. So, I'm happy, mainly because I wasn't complaining about any problems to begin with. I'm not going to Canada anytime soon, and I'm even less likely to be going to Alaska (which are the Droidians who stand to benefit from this 'upgrade').
     
  11. moset

    moset Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rural South GA
    Ratings:
    +15
    I was just thinking that if it's a new baseband there might be signal improvements. I guess they would have touted that if it were the case.
    CM11 is pretty solid now so I really see no reason to mess with stock.

    Sent from my XT912 using Tapatalk
     
  12. 2razrmaxx

    2razrmaxx Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm loving cm11! Very smooth for me
     
Search tags for this page

98.72.165

,
98.72.165 update
,
98.72.165.en.us update
,
98.72.165 root
,
android update 98.72.165.en.us
,
droid razr update 98.72.165
,
razr maxx 98.72.165
,

update 98.72.165.en.us

,
what is 98.72.165.en.us
,
will foxfi work on droid update 98.72.165