Just got a replacement Droid...

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by mrdorunjr, Dec 10, 2010.

  1. mrdorunjr
    Offline

    mrdorunjr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So my Power button broke..got a certified replacement via verizon. I want to root it, i remember seeing a guide on how to root any software version for the droid, but can't seem to find it now, could someone link me?

    Also once the new phone is rooted, cud i just use the recovery image from the old phone to have it exactly the way it was? or do i need to reinstall all the kernals and theme again?
  2. blackngray70
    Offline

    blackngray70 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
  3. mrdorunjr
    Offline

    mrdorunjr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
  4. blackngray70
    Offline

    blackngray70 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    Try RomManager or Quick Boot.

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums App
  5. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    +1! Though it would be pretty difficult to go back through the recovery menus without a power button. Hmm...



    DroidForums junkie!!
  6. blackngray70
    Offline

    blackngray70 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    It's been awhile since I had my Droid, but didn't you use the volume rocker and camera button in recovery?

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums App
  7. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes. Volume was to move navigate through the options and camera as "select" but the power button went back.



    DroidForums junkie!!
  8. blackngray70
    Offline

    blackngray70 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    You're right. I wonder if he could boot into recovery perform a backup then pull the battery and the backup should be on the SD card.

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums App
  9. OSX2000
    Offline

    OSX2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, and yes.
  10. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    +1



    DroidForums junkie!!
  11. mrdorunjr
    Offline

    mrdorunjr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yea and those still work

    yess quick boot work perfectly...

    yeaaa that's is exactly what i did. BUT A LAS. getting a NEW replacement in hopes to not have the flat keyboard...sh!t is impossible for me to type on, I want the bubbled keys like on my broken one.

    btw i found out if i push on the power button REALLY REALLY REALLY hard...it works. but who wants to do that?:cus: