Just forced the OTA update to my phone.............here's how.

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Nexus' started by maineultraclassic, Jun 1, 2012.

  1. maineultraclassic

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southern Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    I read this on another forum, and since I had nothing better to do I gave it a shot...........and it worked.

    Home/menu/settings/apps/all/google services framework/

    Touch this.

    Once it opens clear data and force stop it.

    Hit home/settings/about phone/check for updates.

    It took me 7-8 times doing it, and then it started downloading the update, installed, and no problems at all. Some of the other people on that forum did it 3 times and it worked, some did it 15 and it worked, and of course some did it a lot and nothing happened.

    Nothing is lost by clearing the data and force stopping it, so no fear there.

    Give it a shot, you really have nothing to loose but about 10 minutes of time............and you have a lot to gain if it works.

    Steve
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Crankintopwater69

    Crankintopwater69 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,909
    Likes Received:
    104
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Greensboro,NC
    Ratings:
    +116
    Nothin rite now,but will keep tryin it.Thxz for the info
     
  3. Crankintopwater69

    Crankintopwater69 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,909
    Likes Received:
    104
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Greensboro,NC
    Ratings:
    +116
    Mine goes back to 12/31/1969,is that the norm?
     
  4. maineultraclassic

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southern Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    Yes, it always goes back to that date............it's something to do with Android or Linux.

    Keep trying it, I was amazed when it worked..........but am glad I spent the 10 minutes doing it.

    Steve
     
  5. Crankintopwater69

    Crankintopwater69 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,909
    Likes Received:
    104
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Greensboro,NC
    Ratings:
    +116
    Cool.It was freakin me out there,my birthday is Jan 14 1969.I said dear God,their(The Goverment) is trackin me :D
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Five-0

    Five-0 Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Alabamastan
    Ratings:
    +0
    Our best trick was convincing you that we weren't tracking you.:icon_ devil:
     
  7. leatherneck111

    leatherneck111 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    The method does work after 6th try for me up in Rochester, NY

    THIS DOES WORK: YOU JUST HAVE TO BE PATIENT! I actually gave up after my 5th try. Then I read all the user comments and decided to keep trying and voila, unbelievably it downloaded the update and as I type I'm installing the update! Giddy UP!

    After it installed it shut down and now a screen states "Android is upgrading (Optimizing application ... of 125.)

    I've updated on my original Droid it has never said that before, I'm guessing ICS has different update parameters and a different method of "upgrading" as it states..... It just finished upgrading "contacts" and now I'm a live with my Nexus. WOW, I'm getting 3 bars of 4G while just before the update in the same location I was only getting 1 bar. Google chrome seems faster too... Time will tell what else has been improved.



     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. maineultraclassic

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southern Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    Yeah I kept trying and reading the posts, and I looked at the phone and it was downloading the file.

    Great find for the original poster on that other forum.

    Steve Screenshot_2012-06-01-21-30-46.png
     
  9. alboboy10

    alboboy10 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +17
    I can't get it done...doesn't work for me. Maybe reboot the phone
     
  10. DesktopDevin

    DesktopDevin Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Garner, NC
    Ratings:
    +64
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC One M8
    I flashed with wugs back to stock and locked last night to see what the update would be like, I also formatted the sd storage to make sure no dust was left untouched.

    Was glad to see this thread. It took me about 9 times, but it actually worked.

    Hats Off to you sir/maam whoever thought of of this!!
    audience.gif
    Getting ready to restart now..will get back with results.
     
  11. JJDH

    JJDH Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got it. Took about 20 tries.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Xparent Green Tapatalk 2
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Durania

    Durania Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Crossville, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just worked for me!
     
Search tags for this page
android force ota
,
force ota update
,
force ota update android
,
force ota update verizon
,
force update droid razr
,

force verizon ota update

,
how to force android ota update
,
how to force ota update verizon
,
htc rezound force update
,
verizon force ota update