1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

just bought my d4 how do i root it lol

Discussion in 'Droid 4 Hacks' started by myfishbear, Feb 10, 2012.

  1. myfishbear
    Offline

    myfishbear Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    in the sea. sometimes on land as well
    I just bought my droid 4 and will get it either either tonight or on sat.. anyone know of the names of latest rooting app and busybox installer? i have to root it to get those crap vzw apps off and install setcpu.
  2. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    SetCPU doesn't do anything for a dual core processor at this time.

    And root hasn't been established yet. If it's anything like the D3/Bionic was, could be weeks.

    Sent from the best 3G phone on Verizon.
  3. quizzard
    Offline

    quizzard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bionic had root a one click root from day 1 of release, IIRC.

    I am going out to Best Buy to pick up the D4 today for the wife. When the next D4 comes out I'll pick it up for myself.
  4. droidbionicmaster
    Offline

    droidbionicmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yea but the bionic has been a long a waited device that's why i bet it had the root from day one. The droid 4 hasn't give it a few days i bet a root will be out for it. So id just wait a few days.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  5. quizzard
    Offline

    quizzard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I wonder if you can use the Razr root on the D4? Specs wise they are identical... minus the keyboard...

    Oh well... all in good time.
  6. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Confirmed! No current methods work to root the D4.

    The reason the Bionic had root was because of the D3 btw.

    Sent from the best 3G phone on Verizon.
  7. kwyrt
    Offline

    kwyrt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Nuts. Was really hoping the Razr method would work. Oh well. All in good time.
  8. myfishbear
    Offline

    myfishbear Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    in the sea. sometimes on land as well
    well wen i get it on monday ill try to root it myself using adb and see what happens. i was also told there was no root for the lg ally when it came out along with the d2g and had no problem. not using one click apps either... im very familiar with the android subsystem and all i was lookin 4 were names of current rooting apps cuz i know my older root apps are probably outdated.
  9. myfishbear
    Offline

    myfishbear Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    in the sea. sometimes on land as well
    hahahaahh! look here bro
    How easy will Rooting be? - Android Forums
  10. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
  11. Metal_Mavrik
    Offline

    Metal_Mavrik New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  12. Leapin'Leemers
    Offline

    Leapin'Leemers New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There is a God...and he is good. I haven't had my phone for 2 whole days and I've rooted it. *tears of joy*
  13. Aloth600
    Offline

    Aloth600 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Littleton, Colorado
    So this is confirmed 100% working? The root says?
  14. orangechoochoo
    Offline

    orangechoochoo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On a caboose
    Yes, root works. I was anxious for this so I could use titanium backup to freeze the bloat. Its been working geat for the last 36 hours.
  15. me_droid
    Offline

    me_droid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Unroot?

    Looked through some of the other threads and yes there are some instructions for unrooting.

    mattlgroff's Droid 4 utility pre-release for windows has both root and unroot options:
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-4-hacks/197985-droid-4-utility-pre-release-windows.html

    kbeefy provides instructions from Dan to unroot with adb:
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-4-hacks/198084-ti-restore-unroot.html

    Judging from the reports of bricked devices coming in it may be prudent for those like me, who don't understand rooting and flashing in detail, to take this slowly - maybe root but not uninstall or delete anything until there is a recovery sbf. Give the devs and the ones who really know what they're doing a chance to work with the D4 a while (and donate to support their efforts) before we get into backups and flashing, etc.

    It's only been 5 days since this thing was released!
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2012
  16. myfishbear
    Offline

    myfishbear Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    in the sea. sometimes on land as well
    good idea. if i were you id just root it and install busybox.. you will have all the bells and whistles then... its a fast phone so it isn't 100% necessary to delete stuff off it.
    i myself deleted most of the blur apps and authenticators off and am using asop apps for msging and gallery and go contacts for my phonebook and dialer. furthermore i underclock my cpu to 1ghz max to save power. bty asop 2.3.7 apps wont work im using 2.3.5 apps from cm 7.03