just a quick question before i pull the trigger

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by chelives1928, Feb 10, 2010.

  1. chelives1928
    Offline

    chelives1928 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey everyone I'm about to pull the trigger on bugless beast 7.5 but I have a question. I've already rooted and flashed a 2.1 ROM on my phone and was wondering if I could go straight to BB7.5. I was looking to try the nandroid method because that's what I've done in the past,I don't really mind the data loss. If I follow petes nandroid installation instructions will it turn out alright?

    Thanks everyone for the help n advance
  2. tktouch12
    Offline

    tktouch12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes, if you're on a 2.1 rom just do the nandroid. and you wont regret it, bb is great
  3. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    If I were you, do a restore of the previous nandroid backup you (should've) made before you installed the 2.1 ROM.....install that 2.0.1 ROM and then go from there...follow Pete's nandroid directions and you should be good!!

    Just to avoid any complications...
  4. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    If he goes straight from the 2.1 ROM (correct me if I'm wrong) I'm pretty sure he will have to wipe /system also....along with wiping data and the cache partition...
  5. chelives1928
    Offline

    chelives1928 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok so I can go from 2.1 to BB with no problem or is it suggested that i first downgrade back to 2.01 first? Got a little confused over what was the consensus
  6. tktouch12
    Offline

    tktouch12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well, you wont die, but you will have to wipe a lot, and its not that hard to restore back real quick, so just restore to avoid anything bad
  7. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    One of 2 things:

    1) Do a nandroid restore of your old 2.0.1 backup, and then go from there with Pete's nandroid instructions

    2) Keep 2.1, but before you restore Pete's BB ROM:

    wipe data/factory reset
    wipe cache partition
    wipe /system with ADB by typing:

    format SYSTEM:
  8. chelives1928
    Offline

    chelives1928 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was able to get back to stock 2.0.1 but when I try to restore the BB 7.5 I get a nandroid exited with status 2 error, any ideas?
  9. tktouch12
    Offline

    tktouch12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    if your back on stock you could use update.zip couldnt you?
    also, i know thats a pretty common error, but i cant remember what it means
  10. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    Yes it is common.....I've seen it around here a lot. But unfortunately I do not know what it means... :(

    Try the update.zip method
  11. chelives1928
    Offline

    chelives1928 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What I did was take the contents of one folder and moved it onto my PC desktop; then I put the bb rom in the now empty folder in my nandroid folder and it finally worked