Just a little clarification please

hunt587

Reaction score
Hey guys, I recently got a Droid 2 global and heard about the concept of "rooting". I just got into all this stuff so I need some help understanding whats up. I get rooting and what roms are, but the other terms are not so clearly defined

ok after reading http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...root-custom-recovery-sim-unlock-tutorial.html

I have a few questions,

1. On that post, why would I need the Droid 2 bootstrap?

2. What the hell is the purpose of this godly SBF file thing? Why would I install it, what could I do with it, just really what purpose does it serve? It sounds useful but I don't know how...

3. How would I install those apps available on the internet like the easy tether? Like how can I transfer the file from my PC to my Droid?

4. Sorry but I am a cell noob in general, but what kind of stuff can I do to my SIM? I don't understand exactly what getting the code could do.

Thanks in advanced!

Last edited:

IMRoMuLuS

Reaction score
I personally can't answer ALL your questions. I can only explain that D2 Bootstrapper is necessary to install a ROM and the SBF is required to put a proper Kernel (I think) to accept a ROM as well. Other people will come along within the next day to help you.

But all the FILES you would need are in this link, still look in the proper Droid 2 and Droid 2 Global forums to access specific guides. Don't use Fission 2.5.7! Fission 2.4.3 is the only properly working ROM for the Droid 2 Global (D2G).

These are the files you will need.

Fission 2.4.3 for Droid 2 Global.zip

Reaction score
1. The bootstrap allows you to make nandroid backups of your phone. Essentially, a save state for you to revert to, in the event of a problem down the road.