Jittery Touchscreen Interface for v0.6.1

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by SteveONCSU, Dec 22, 2010.

  1. SteveONCSU

    SteveONCSU Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anybody else notice that moving something around or sliding the app drawer around is very jittery?

    The performance is noticeably better for me. Can't wait to see how it looks after everything settles down and I'm back to stable.
     
  2. opeth2112

    opeth2112 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes - I am still getting it as well. My history for info : BB v.6 after total wipe - then did a install of .6.1 without wipe. Anyone who wiped prior to .6.1 still getting this same problem?
     
  3. SteveONCSU

    SteveONCSU Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    I went from 0.5 to 0.6.1. I wiped a few times before upgrading.

    Overall though I'm loving the performance. Seems to run a LOT faster, even when I've got all my apps restoring and everything is syncing for the first time.
     
  4. bendystrawboy

    bendystrawboy Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    797
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    *This ROM is overclocked to 800Mhz by default, not every Droid will be able to handle this clock speed!
    Your Droid may not boot up or may have random shutdowns or reboots!*

    try a diff kernel if that doesnt work wipe and reinstall
     
  5. SteveONCSU

    SteveONCSU Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought about trying this. I'm giving it a little bit of time. Seems like its calmed down now. Maybe its under heavy load??
     
  6. myriad46

    myriad46 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wiped prior to .6.1 and I still get "the jitters."
     
  7. et23kochie

    et23kochie New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know there was discuss this might be from cheap chargers. Was you phone plugged in when they were doing this?
     
  8. prime

    prime Kernel Developer
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,900
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +57
    The voltages of the included slayher kernel are too high, try something in a ULV kernel.

    Here are the slot speeds and associated vsel (voltage) values to the BB 6.x.x slayher based kernel:

    mpu_opps[7] rate=800000000 opp_id=7 vsel=68
    mpu_opps[6] rate=700000000 opp_id=6 vsel=64
    mpu_opps[5] rate=600000000 opp_id=5 vsel=62
    mpu_opps[4] rate=550000000 opp_id=4 vsel=56
    mpu_opps[3] rate=500000000 opp_id=3 vsel=50
    mpu_opps[2] rate=250000000 opp_id=2 vsel=39
    mpu_opps[1] rate=125000000 opp_id=1 vsel=32

    Here are the values of my kernel:

    mpu_opps[7] rate=900000000 opp_id=7 vsel=60
    mpu_opps[6] rate=800000000 opp_id=6 vsel=60
    mpu_opps[5] rate=700000000 opp_id=5 vsel=50
    mpu_opps[4] rate=600000000 opp_id=4 vsel=40
    mpu_opps[3] rate=500000000 opp_id=3 vsel=34
    mpu_opps[2] rate=400000000 opp_id=2 vsel=34
    mpu_opps[1] rate=300000000 opp_id=1 vsel=34

    ---------------------
    fivefour on xda
    @f1vefour on twitter
     
  9. SteveONCSU

    SteveONCSU Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    No it wasn't plugged in. I'm thinking its a kernel problem. It seems to be a rare occasion for me now so I may just live with it until I get more time to flash a new kernel.
     
  10. bigdad63

    bigdad63 Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +25
    +1 for moving down in speed or up in voltage.
     
  11. prime

    prime Kernel Developer
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,900
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +57
    Pete said he hadn't tested the rom with others(or not proper), had he tested this issue would have arisen along with others (hence the 6.1 - 6.1.1 fiasco).

    ---------------------
    fivefour on xda
    @f1vefour on twitter
     
  12. prime

    prime Kernel Developer
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,900
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +57
    NOT up in voltage, this is already the root cause. ;-)

    ---------------------
    fivefour on xda
    @f1vefour on twitter