1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

JIT for NOOBS

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by ChevyNo1, Feb 1, 2010.

  1. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    :icon_ banana:

    OK, I know a few of you want to try it out but need help ... here ya go. Extract contents of zip to your PC (this means Windows, NOT Mac). Make sure your phone is plugged in, USB debugging enabled, adb.exe available in PATH. Run install.cmd. You're done after the phone reboots. Use the on/off scripts after installing to turn on and off.

    Also ... if you are one of the folks that don't get the '#' as soon as you 'adb shell' then this won't work for you ..

    Attached Files:

    • JIT1.zip
      File size:
      398.3 KB
      Views:
      1,290
  2. Jeremy556
    Offline

    Jeremy556 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    I just tried this out, running sholes 1.2 + sholes kernel for OC to 1GHz and using setCPU to set min/max frequency to the same, killed all background tasks, used setCPU's benchmark as well as linpack.

    Times are best out of about 15 tries.

    JIT Enabled
    1GHz 207ms 8.933
    800 262 7.1
    600 362 5.354

    JIT Disabled
    1GHz 176 9.736
    800 232ms 7.823
    600 311ms 5.878
  3. p0rk burn
    Offline

    p0rk burn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Chevy, I've been trying to decide if I wanted to give JIT a shot but since you made it so easy I don't really have a choice.

    As always, you make things too easy.
  4. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Am I reading your #'s correctly, ie. everything got slower with JIT? I think I saw the same thing on Sholes 1.2 ... but on non-sholes it gets quicker, I hit 10.677 for linpack @1.1
  5. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    LOL! I like to see everyone be able to play around, ha ha
  6. Jeremy556
    Offline

    Jeremy556 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Yep.

    I'll give it a try later on with the sholes 2.0 alpha release. It was running really fast in general, but would crash whenever playing audio, so I just took it off this morning.
  7. KZIWarrior
    Offline

    KZIWarrior Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,625
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    So your benchmarks went DOWN?? or did you transpose those results? (or am I reading them wrong? the times are shorter and LIN# higher with the JIT Disabled?)

    Ah, Chevy beat me to it, I didn't refresh the page...
  8. doug piston
    Offline

    doug piston Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,203
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    excuse my newbness but I extracted but can't seem to run the install.cmd from the phone. need to be in adb?
  9. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You do not run any of this from the phone; all from your PC. Make sure your phone is plugged in/adb available, etc. Run install.cmd from PC. That's it. Same with the other two scripts. .CMD files are Win files.
  10. JoeeDB
    Offline

    JoeeDB Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What is JIT?
  11. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
  12. doug piston
    Offline

    doug piston Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,203
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    been running the droidroot version but didn't like ill try this tonight then
  13. jmorris42
    Offline

    jmorris42 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried this, but with JIT enabled, my benchmarks weren't great. When I tried to turn off jit, I got errors in the cmd script. cp not found, and it also didn't do the mount correctly, saying that its a read-only file system. Is there something I can check either from my PC or my droid to determine if it is, in fact disabled?
  14. deputc26
    Offline

    deputc26 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Assuming this is JSteve's JIT build?
  15. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes this is Steve's build ...
  16. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If this returns nothing, it is disabled:

    adb shell "busybox grep int:jit /system/build.prop"

    See OP for new zip ...
  17. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also ... if you are one of the folks that don't get the '#' as soon as you 'adb shell' then this won't work for you ..
  18. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    I have the same setup as you and (with JIT disabled) and my highest score is around 8.226. I wonder what is causing yours to be so much higher? When this gets optimized on the Droid, can we expect some mflop scores to be anywhere near the Nexus One's (around 17 with the CyanogenMod I think)?
  19. deputc26
    Offline

    deputc26 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, cyanogens implementation of JIT is much more effective (and much less stable) than JSteve's, that said there are some who are running cyanogens implementaion on the droid though making it work is a huge pain and not practical as everything FCs constantly. Tasmanian_Droid who developed droid overclocking has a score of 16.xx which is just 1.x below the best N1 score.

    Lol, I put the droid in its first boot loop running this at 1.1ghz, it was fine for ten min and then...
  20. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    Out of all the things I've embarked upon with my Droid, this was the MOST shockingly simple task....lol...my highest mflops with JIT was 8.661 and no matter what I do I can't get it higher than that!! I'm running at 1GHz....how are people getting anything above 10? Much less 14, 15...that blows my mind

    EDIT: Nevermind, I just ran 9.366 Mflops/s
Search tags for this page
dalvik.vm.execution-mode=int: jit vs fast
,
enable jit gingerbread
,

jit gingerbread

,
jit in gingerbread
,

jit not turning on for android benchmarks