JIT Enabler for TC ROMs

Discussion in 'Team Chaos' started by adrynalyne, May 15, 2010.

  1. n0m0n

    n0m0n Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    HERE
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK
    I iinstall this like a update (change name of file)?
    Like a nandroid (install file as named from SDCard)?

    Also after its installed do I increase the clocking to lets say 800, or will that put me in a M loop if I have to reboot or it it power cycles down?

    Thanks
     
  2. Skull One

    Skull One Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Unless you are 100% sure about the kernel you are using, always uncheck "set on boot" in setcpu when testing something new that requires a reboot to install.
     
  3. Skull One

    Skull One Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    I had to disable JIT. Need some time to reproduce what I found. But short version: MyBackup Pro, sleep mode for more than 2 hours, and full auto bakup turned on to run during sleep mode. Crashes the OS hard.
     
  4. carlz28

    carlz28 Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    820
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sadly my experience was horrid. Phone booted fine. Homescreen was flawless. Using the phone as a phone worked well. But about 80% of my apps crashed upon opening. Including tapatalk, voice, maps, gang wars, even chompSMS wouldnt allow me to send txts. The program would open and allow me to input, but sending crashed.
    Had 4 soft reboots in a matter of two hours...one of which included while I was in the middle of a call.
    CPU speed was set to 600max/250min. So it wasn't an OC'ing matter.
    I tried it with the stock RR kernel and P3's LV kernel as well.
    Basically the same results.

    Kind of upset that this didn't work on my phone as just about everything else I've tried that other peoples' phones couldn't handle, mine could. But not this.
    In the end though, I'm not really too worried because my phone is plenty fast & responsive enough without JIT.
    Some people swear it makes a difference. I don't know if it's a placebo effect or what. Even videos I've watched with JIT enabled, didn't impress me with a "WOW" factor.
    So I guess it's a matter of whatever works best for you and your specific phone.
     
  5. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +5
    Remember, JIT in its current state is a proof of concept. Its not even alpha.
     
  6. Stolas

    Stolas Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well almost a day now with JIT and my results are the same as Carlz, for the most part. Looks promising though!
     
  7. blazingwolf

    blazingwolf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow, you gave up easily. ;)
     
  8. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +5
    I've learned not to tick off team members :D