JIT - Check it out

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by agdaniels, Jan 28, 2010.

  1. agdaniels

    agdaniels Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Might be relevant to someones interest. Almost hitting 10 Mflops in Linpack stable

    AllDroid - View topic - JIT for Droid
     
  2. vpshockwave

    vpshockwave Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's a real tough thread to follow. I gathered that JIT is called "Just in Time" and apparently the Nexus has it installed. Apparently they have it mostly working on the droid with some real good results in speed increases. Hmmm...
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2010
  3. agdaniels

    agdaniels Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    A quick how-to if you didn't care to read the whole thing

    http://www.alldroid.org/download/file.php?id=1374

    put those in bin and lib respectively (lib files in /system/lib, dalvikvm in /system/bin) then add this line to build.prop

    dalvik.vm.execution-mode=int:jit

    Of course props to humancyborg and steve over on alldroid
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2010
  4. Guchi

    Guchi Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    i would try it if i could figure out what they were talking about.....

    Edit: ^^^^ and now i guess now i do
     
  5. vpshockwave

    vpshockwave Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Going to do me a benchmark and a backup, then check it out!
     
  6. vpshockwave

    vpshockwave Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alright, did everything, and phone would boot up, but the second I opened any app, I just got a black screen for a few seconds, then the phone powered off by itself. Reverting to my backup I suppose...

    [EDIT] Probably worth noting that I'm running the 900mhz overclocked kernel.
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2010
  7. 19DroidRage84

    19DroidRage84 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    LC, KS
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im a NooB when it comes to adb commands. Could you post the commands to push the files where they are supposed to go adb push "". Also how to edit the build.prop?
     
  8. agdaniels

    agdaniels Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can accomplish all of this with cp. copy the files you want to move onto your sdcard in windows, reboot in recovery, mount /system and /sdcard (mount system) then just cp /sdcard/dalvikvm /system/bin/dalvikvm

    For build.prop cp /system/build.prop /system/build.prop.bak (creates a backup) then cp /system/build.prop /sdcard/build.prop go into windows, open build.prop on your sdcard with wordpad, reverse it to put it back
     
  9. 19DroidRage84

    19DroidRage84 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    LC, KS
    Ratings:
    +0
    I mounted system and sdcard. Then typed adb shell. Then cp /sdcard/dalvikvn /system/bin/dalvikvm

    It says cp not found?
     
  10. agdaniels

    agdaniels Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm probably spoiled by sholes rom, try busybox cp /sdcard/dalvikvm /system/bin/dalivkvm

    if you don't have busybox you can use adb push with adb push C:\users\yourname\desktop\dalvikvm(your filename here) /system/bin/dalvikvm

    You'll get a read only error if you try and do it when you're not in recovery mode (assuming you have sprecovery), hold x when youre rebooting to get into it

    if you don't have sprecovery or aren't rooted hit up Sholes
     
  11. gentlefury

    gentlefury Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    JIT seems to be very unstable at speeds higher than 550Mhz...which means as of right now there is no point in enabling it.

    800Mhz runs amazingly....when you enable JIT it bumps the process count by about 1MFlop/sec but it becomes unstable and will shut itself down very often.
     
  12. agdaniels

    agdaniels Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im using sholes 1.2 and the files compiled by the t3hsteve on alldroid (see page 1 of this thread) and I have no stability issues at 800mhz. I doubt it makes much of a difference in anything but benchmarks, but it's a good start
     
  13. 19DroidRage84

    19DroidRage84 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    LC, KS
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks! typing busybox was the key. After all this is done how do I know if I was sucessful or not?
     
  14. gentlefury

    gentlefury Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yup, I did the same thing, dl'd that exact same pack, followed the exact same directions and at 800Mhz with JIT enabled I got the exact same results as everyone else, but it crashed randomly while using it for a day.

    Are you actually using your Droid? Or just enabling it looking at linpack smiling and putting it to sleep?
     
  15. agdaniels

    agdaniels Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Run linpack (check marketplace) and enjoy your faster benchmark speeds. If you have issues, just rename the files to filename.bak and revert your build.prop.bak to build.prop until developers better implement it
     
Search tags for this page

build prop jit the phone

,

jit enabled 2.3.3

,

when did motorola started using the jit system