1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

JB and foxfi.

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S3' started by DroidBoardr, Dec 15, 2012.

  1. DroidBoardr
    Offline

    DroidBoardr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    So what's the verdict. Haven't gotten my update due to a sim card issue, but does Foxfi still work?
  2. drew96dawg
    Offline

    drew96dawg New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mobile Al
    At this point foxfi isnt working on jellybean

    sent from my vzw galaxy note 2
  3. jgmecarter
    Offline

    jgmecarter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Foxfi does work with the S3 and note 2 running JB. It works on both of my S3's and my note 2. Will want to pay for the full version so you can use more than 30 mins at a time but is worth every penny of it.
  4. jgmecarter
    Offline

    jgmecarter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My note 2 and S3's are stock and have never been rooted
  5. druizer
    Offline

    druizer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Foxfi works fine on my SIII with JB.
  6. jgmecarter
    Offline

    jgmecarter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can also install flash player back on your S3 just by going to adobe flash website.
  7. rlarson_mn
    Offline

    rlarson_mn New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    FoxFi works just fine on my GS3 with JB installed. Using it to post this update. I did end up paying for the application though so not sure if the 'free' version works or not.
  8. jgmecarter
    Offline

    jgmecarter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The free version does work but for only 30 mins at a time. If that's all you need it for then the free version will be just fine
  9. Caesars
    Offline

    Caesars Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,205
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    48
    On the note two, foxfi turns on the hot spot feature, is this ok?

    Return of the Android
  10. jgmecarter
    Offline

    jgmecarter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have not gotten a bill for it. But I am pretty sure that you have to agree to verzions terms and conditions before they can charge you for it
  11. jwilly216
    Offline

    jwilly216 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It does that on s3, too and it's fine. No charges or anything. Don't worry about it
  12. PatrickJ
    Offline

    PatrickJ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are we sure no charges because I'm sorta nervous when the hot spot is activated.
  13. jgmecarter
    Offline

    jgmecarter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I checked my bill last night and there was no charge on it so you should be fine
  14. drpaul07
    Offline

    drpaul07 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    Saw this thread and thought I'd ask if anyone knows about this weird issue i'm having. FoxFi always worked perfectly for me. Now after the JB update, it does automatically turn on the mobile hotspot (which is fine cuz I actually pay for that, dumb I know). The thing is whenever I use the Mobile Hotspot app, my 4g will completely drop out almost every time I try to click a link or load a webpage or anything. Then when I stop doing anything, the 4g icon will reappear on my phone...then disappear again as soon as I try to do something on my laptop! Its really weird and super annoying. This never happened when I used foxfi. And now that its automatically activating mobile hotspot, my 4g drops constantly. Like it doesn't even switch to 3g, it actually disappears for a few seconds, then will reappear. Anyone ever heard of that or know how to fix this? Thanks. Sorry if this is kinda in the wrong thread.
  15. Caesars
    Offline

    Caesars Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,205
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    48
    On my razr maxx, when I turned the wifi on I would immediately lose signal strength as well.

    Return of the Android
  16. jgmecarter
    Offline

    jgmecarter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have never had a problem like that with my S3's note 2 or my razor maxx. How strong is your signal before you turn on Foxfi?
  17. PatrickJ
    Offline

    PatrickJ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried turning on my hot spot and it informed me that i would have to subscribe to it. I'm going with its ok when fox turns it on when you activate it.
  18. drpaul07
    Offline

    drpaul07 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    My 4g strength is always fine when i don't have mobile hotspot activated. It never drops out. I live in a big city so the signal is real good. 4g only drops out after I try to use mobile hotspot. I should mention that this same thing happened with my previous phone (droid charge) also. I'm hoping foxfi just updates their app, so it doesn't automatically activate Mobile Hotspot.. :/
  19. DroidBoardr
    Offline

    DroidBoardr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    It seems many people have found that FoxFi is working with JB. Have you tried it recently? I see that the Play store site still says it isn't working with JB, but based on this forum it seems that the play store may be wrong.
  20. drew
    Offline

    drew New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    My experience with FoxFi after the JB update:

    The Hotspot icon gets activated in the status bar, and a "click here to set up" appears.
    i was able to surf using Chrome, but I was unable to use any apps that used internet (Dropbox, G+, Facebook). It was odd behavior. I did not purchase the full version, so I don't know if that is an additional limitation to separate me from my $7.
Search tags for this page
after trying foxfi my phones hotspot isnt working
,
android mobile hotspot activated
,
does foxfi 2.10 work on note 2
,
does foxfi work on verizon samsung galaxy note ii
,
foxfi for samsung s3
,

foxfi galaxy s3

,
foxfi jelly bean sprint
,

foxfi samsung galaxy s3

,
foxfi strong signal strength
,
foxfi turns on mobile hotspot
,
foxfi verizon samsung galaxy s3
,
how to activate foxfi with galaxy 3
,
samsung galaxy 3 3g disappears with foxfi
,
when i turn foxfi on my mobile hotspot turns on
,
why everytime i use foxfi my status bar disapears