I've Rooted my Revolution and have some questions

AstroBoy

Reaction score
Hi All,

I'm new to Android/Rooting. I used the SOC root method to root the phone, and now I have some questions I'm sure more knowledgeable folks can answer.

First and foremost, I know a recovery is in the works/testing phase and will soon allow alternate ROMS to be loaded. Until that time, I need to know what apps/processes I can safely remove from my phone without bricking it.

I know I can and have killed Bing and BingVoice. As well as stupid apps like Blockbuster, CityID etc....

What about things like VCast Apps? Verizon Media manager? Widgets?

There seems to be a lot of processes running in the background that I have no idea what they do.

I know each phone has different bloatware, is there a list for the Revolution?

Also what is the difference between uninstalling and freezing an App? Is there a free way to freeze an app?

Thanks for any advice

Reaction score
Hi All,

I'm new to Android/Rooting. I used the SOC root method to root the phone, and now I have some questions I'm sure more knowledgeable folks can answer.

First and foremost, I know a recovery is in the works/testing phase and will soon allow alternate ROMS to be loaded. Until that time, I need to know what apps/processes I can safely remove from my phone without bricking it.

I know I can and have killed Bing and BingVoice. As well as stupid apps like Blockbuster, CityID etc....

What about things like VCast Apps? Verizon Media manager? Widgets?

Most of the VCast/VZW apps can be frozen/disabled/removed without issue. The one piece of bloat that I have heard some rumblings about removing was the Backup Assistant... if you use it, great, but if you don't, just make sure to skip setup and ensure all Syncs are disabled for it.

I don't have my own Revolution, just a Demo phone I am testing. Looking at the preinstalled apps in the app drawer, here is what I would say you could safely remove without issue: