it's official, I dislike FoxFi...

Discussion in 'Off Topic Forum' started by jackiescivic, Jul 19, 2012.

  1. jackiescivic

    jackiescivic Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,583
    Likes Received:
    749
    Trophy Points:
    328
    Location:
    Muskego, WI
    Ratings:
    +822
    The last two days, we have been without Internet connection at my house. Two days ago, I connected with FoxFi with no problem and had it going for about 30 minutes or so. Then that evening I could not get it to work again. Yesterday morning, same thing, it would not connect, even after numerous rebooting. Last night, once again I was able to connect, after a reboot. This morning, unable to connect even after rebooting multiple times and changing the Hotspot name after each reboot. Sense a problem here? For this reason alone, I'm considering just paying for the mobile hotspot!
     
  2. justin82

    justin82 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,693
    Likes Received:
    214
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +216
    i have read somewhere that if you toggle airplane mode that makes it work.
     
  3. jackiescivic

    jackiescivic Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,583
    Likes Received:
    749
    Trophy Points:
    328
    Location:
    Muskego, WI
    Ratings:
    +822
    I have removed the app and am going to try re-installing it later.
     
  4. tdperry

    tdperry Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +21
    Root your phone and then get a SQLite Editor and modify your settings db and use the built in one for free. That's the main reason I rooted my wife's MAXX and my son's MAXX. :D:p
    I think it is around 87 or so and is called entitlement check. Change the 1 to 0 (zero) and now you have free tethering.

    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. jackiescivic

    jackiescivic Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,583
    Likes Received:
    749
    Trophy Points:
    328
    Location:
    Muskego, WI
    Ratings:
    +822
    You lost me on how to do that, lol. I am not sure how to root with the Maxx, as I had an X2 previously, but I would imagine it's similar?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. mysticalmalissa

    mysticalmalissa Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Top of the Rock, TN (Sequatchie)
    Ratings:
    +26
    Try going to settings>apps>FoxFi>clear data>force stop, then try it again.

    When I first started using FoxFi, it would do the same thing as yours. Sometimes it would tell me to use bluetooth. I also stopped re-naming it and its been working steady now for the last month.

    Good luck!
     
  7. Xfactorx316

    Xfactorx316 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Ratings:
    +29
    Jackie that is exactly what I did with FoxFi and I haven't had a single issue since (knocking on wood). I hope it works for you too!:biggrin:
     
  8. huskur

    huskur Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    Ratings:
    +36
    Make sure you download the "foxfi ad-on" along with foxfi
     
  9. MattyP

    MattyP Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,296
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    In a race car...
    Ratings:
    +210
    It's so easy to root a Maxx ... it can be done in 2 minutes with Matt's utility. Then get the SQLite app and that takes one minute and a reboot. Then you can enjoy the Mobile Hotspot app. :icon_ devil:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. tdperry

    tdperry Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +21
    Do a search (Google) on droidrzr utility 1.81 and it should show a link at the droidrzr forums. Join, download and enjoy rooting you phone VERY easily. The utility also has the ability to unroot, flash back to stock ICS and a few other toys. Just be sure that you extract it to a directory off your c:\ drive. I use a folder called \root.

    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
     
  11. jackiescivic

    jackiescivic Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,583
    Likes Received:
    749
    Trophy Points:
    328
    Location:
    Muskego, WI
    Ratings:
    +822
    I had the add-on installed and it did nada :-/

    Download/reinstall of FoxFi and add-on did nothing either :( Oh well
     
  12. tdperry

    tdperry Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +21
    Root.... Root...... Root.... :D

    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
     
    • Like Like x 2
Search tags for this page
foxfi13
,
foxfi32
,
foxfi35
,
foxfi53
,
foxfi56
,
foxfi atrix hd
,
foxfi safe
,
how safe is foxfi
,

is foxfi safe

,
is foxfi safe to use