it's official, I dislike FoxFi...

Discussion in 'Off Topic Forum' started by jackiescivic, Jul 19, 2012.

  1. jackiescivic
    Offline

    jackiescivic Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    958
    Likes Received:
    210
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Muskego, WI
    The last two days, we have been without Internet connection at my house. Two days ago, I connected with FoxFi with no problem and had it going for about 30 minutes or so. Then that evening I could not get it to work again. Yesterday morning, same thing, it would not connect, even after numerous rebooting. Last night, once again I was able to connect, after a reboot. This morning, unable to connect even after rebooting multiple times and changing the Hotspot name after each reboot. Sense a problem here? For this reason alone, I'm considering just paying for the mobile hotspot!
  2. justin82
    Offline

    justin82 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3,607
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    63
    i have read somewhere that if you toggle airplane mode that makes it work.
  3. jackiescivic
    Offline

    jackiescivic Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    958
    Likes Received:
    210
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Muskego, WI
    I have removed the app and am going to try re-installing it later.
  4. tdperry
    Offline

    tdperry New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Root your phone and then get a SQLite Editor and modify your settings db and use the built in one for free. That's the main reason I rooted my wife's MAXX and my son's MAXX. :D:p
    I think it is around 87 or so and is called entitlement check. Change the 1 to 0 (zero) and now you have free tethering.

    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
    1 person likes this.
  5. jackiescivic
    Offline

    jackiescivic Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    958
    Likes Received:
    210
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Muskego, WI
    You lost me on how to do that, lol. I am not sure how to root with the Maxx, as I had an X2 previously, but I would imagine it's similar?
    1 person likes this.
  6. mysticalmalissa
    Offline

    mysticalmalissa New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Top of the Rock, TN (Sequatchie)
    Try going to settings>apps>FoxFi>clear data>force stop, then try it again.

    When I first started using FoxFi, it would do the same thing as yours. Sometimes it would tell me to use bluetooth. I also stopped re-naming it and its been working steady now for the last month.

    Good luck!
  7. Xfactorx316
    Offline

    Xfactorx316 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Jackie that is exactly what I did with FoxFi and I haven't had a single issue since (knocking on wood). I hope it works for you too!:biggrin:
  8. huskur
    Offline

    huskur Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    Make sure you download the "foxfi ad-on" along with foxfi
  9. MattyP
    Offline

    MattyP Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,267
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In a race car...
    It's so easy to root a Maxx ... it can be done in 2 minutes with Matt's utility. Then get the SQLite app and that takes one minute and a reboot. Then you can enjoy the Mobile Hotspot app. :icon_ devil:
    1 person likes this.
  10. tdperry
    Offline

    tdperry New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Do a search (Google) on droidrzr utility 1.81 and it should show a link at the droidrzr forums. Join, download and enjoy rooting you phone VERY easily. The utility also has the ability to unroot, flash back to stock ICS and a few other toys. Just be sure that you extract it to a directory off your c:\ drive. I use a folder called \root.

    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
  11. jackiescivic
    Offline

    jackiescivic Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    958
    Likes Received:
    210
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Muskego, WI
    I had the add-on installed and it did nada :-/

    Download/reinstall of FoxFi and add-on did nothing either :( Oh well
  12. tdperry
    Offline

    tdperry New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Root.... Root...... Root.... :D

    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
    2 people like this.
  13. MattyP
    Offline

    MattyP Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,267
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In a race car...
    Root that puppy LOL :icon_ devil:
    1 person likes this.
  14. xxwabbit
    Offline

    xxwabbit Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Only time I have problem with foxfi is with my wife's Kindle. It will keep dropping and reconnecting over and over. Works perfect with my hp laptop running win7.
  15. coldRAZR
    Offline

    coldRAZR New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you're on the Everything Shared plan with Verizon, the mobile hotspot feature is free of charge now, limited only by your data cap. That is unless you're still on a grandfathered unlimited plan...
    1 person likes this.
  16. tdperry
    Offline

    tdperry New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
  17. montanacur
    Offline

    montanacur New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you turned on USB debugging?

    Sent from my A200 using Tapatalk 2
  18. jackiescivic
    Offline

    jackiescivic Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    958
    Likes Received:
    210
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Muskego, WI
    I am a Verizon vendor, so no Share Everything for me...yet. plus, I do have unlimited
  19. jackiescivic
    Offline

    jackiescivic Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    958
    Likes Received:
    210
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Muskego, WI
  20. tdperry
    Offline

    tdperry New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    No problem, and it will be there for a while. ;)

    Tapped from my Verizon locked bootloader S III
Search tags for this page
foxfi atrix hd
,
foxfi safe
,
foxfi safe to use
,
foxfi safe?
,
foxfi speed
,
foxfi13
,
foxfi32
,
foxfi35
,
foxfi53
,
foxfi54
,
foxfi56
,
foxfi60
,
how safe is foxfi
,

is foxfi safe

,

is foxfi safe to use