It's almost perfect…however….

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Incredible' started by stanwelks, May 18, 2010.

  1. stanwelks

    stanwelks Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I liked my Droid a lot though I never liked the way it felt in my hand, I hated the keyboard, and I did notice some lag. I absolutely love the way the Incredible feels in my hand, it is light, I like the onscreen keyboard, Sense fixes a lot of issues with stock Android, and it is fast! However, there are some things about it I can see improved. I tried emailing HTC customer support for an address for suggestions regarding changes to Sense, though I have not heard back. Anyone know where to send suggestions?

    My list of what can be improved

    1. Video could be shot at 720
    2. battery life could be better
    3. Sense email does not allow you to assign custom notification sounds each time an email arrives. Standard Android email allows you to do this. Why would they take this away???
    4. Using Exchange email requires me to have a pin code to unlock my home screen. This gets real annoying when streaming music to it in the car and I want to change songs. I downloaded an app to resolve this, though it should not be forced on us like this by default through Sense email.
    5. My Droid displayed the percentage of my battery that was charged when it was plugged in. The Incredible does not do this. A minor thing, though it was nice. I downloaded some app.

    This is my whole list after using it for 5-days. Nothing that I consider major. What about you?
     
  2. Mule65

    Mule65 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    No hands free voice dialing.
     
  3. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    No Android phone has that.

    For the OP I just wonder, have you had a smart phone prior to this? The reason I ask is smart phones are not computers and many people who haven't had them seem to think they should behave like one. I know you weren't complaining, just listing things.

    Experience with other smart phones has shown me that at least with the Droid, I don't have the Incredible, it's pretty darn good. I can't complain.
     
  4. sillyrabbitt123

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use exchange and I dont have to set a pin code. sounds strange. sure its not an app you downloaded.
     
  5. ExactDroid

    ExactDroid Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Me either......
     
  6. stanwelks

    stanwelks Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    yup, the Droid. 2 of the things I mentioned were available on the droid and are not available through Sense.

     
  7. stanwelks

    stanwelks Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It made me do it during setup of the account. Perhaps it makes you do it based on if exchange requires SSL or whatever it is?

     
  8. giantcrazy

    giantcrazy New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's because the Exchange server is forcing it as part of its security profile. It works the same way on Windows Mobile - if you have Exchange mail in push configuration and there's no PIN on the device, it tells you up front that you have to select a PIN in order to complete the sync. Nothing to do with Android or Sense.
     
  9. BzB

    BzB Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    just to add to this, the exchange server requires it because it was set up that way by your IT department. probably a required security policy setting.

    some configurations let you setup push (activesync) without a pin. i don't require one for mine.
     
  10. itzkr0me

    itzkr0me Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    activesync works for my incredible w/o the pin. And I'm in the IT department ;)
     
  11. R24D24

    R24D24 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I may not understand what you are saying perhaps, but my Inc shows me the battery percentage exactly how my moto does when charging.
     
  12. pmas

    pmas Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Massapequa, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have custom notifications for my email. I have 2 accounts in addition to a gmail account. All 3 have different notification sounds. Just go to one of your accounts, email settings and set the one you want for that particular email account. Then go to the next and so on.
     
Search tags for this page

blogaway for android setup