Issues with BB 0.7.4

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by mav7, Feb 6, 2010.

  1. mav7

    mav7 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Rooted and went to BB 0.7.4, using the update method.

    I am experiencing the following problems:

    -Using stock messenger program, sometimes when I get a text message it will come in 3 times (duplicates).

    -CardioTrainer force quits when I try to start a workout. "The application CardioTrainer (process com.wsl.CardioTrainer) has stopped unexpectedly."
    I Really would like this app working... any ideas how I can fix it? Does anyone else have this issue running BB 0.7.4?

    -I get occasional force quits now and then. Weird issues happen like if I start Pandora, sometimes meridian will start playing music randomy.

    - This damn IM program always is running in the background when the phone starts, and I usually have to kill it.


    Some NEWB questions, sorry I did try searching:
    1) Now could any of these issues be because I used the update method?
    2) If I wipe my phone clean (factory reset), and then restore a nandroid backup before then, will I get my data back, including text messages?
    3) If not, what's the easiest way to backup / reinstall apps, text messages, etc?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. natediddy1120

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah your best bet is to wipe data and install 0.7.4 the nandroid way.....sometimes the update.zip ROMs are better to use if you were already using BB say 0.7.3. Start off with a fresh start and wipe data...you can redownload your apps in the Market in your Downloads section because that is stored in your google accout along with contacts, emails, and calender events, etc. BUT......unfortunately there is no way to restore text messages after you do a data wipe....sorry
     
  3. jcardona1

    jcardona1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Commiefornia
    Ratings:
    +40
    so what steps should I follow for this? do a factory wipe, restore to my previous nandroid backup, then reinstall 7.4 that way? us that correct?
     
  4. mav7

    mav7 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm wondering the same thing
     
  5. mav7

    mav7 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can someone on BB 0.7.4 let me know if "CardioTrainer" works for them? Open the program and hit "start workout". See if it doesn't crash.

    Also, can someone test "aDyno". I am getting force closes when starting a timed run. Very annoying, and I will go back to stock unless I can fix these two programs.

    Thanks
     
  6. Se7enLC

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    It force-closes for me, too - 0.7.4 Bugless Beast

    It was working fine before you installed 0.7.4? Does this workout program interface with google maps in any way?
     
  7. mav7

    mav7 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for checking. I don't want to lose all my data just to find out that didn't fix the problem.

    I believe it does interface with Google Maps... It can show your route. Would that have something to do with it crashing? Can I go back to the old Google Maps then?
     
  8. Se7enLC

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    There was a change to the Maps API recently, and BB 0.7.4 included the hacked version of it from the Nexus.

    I would try installing maps from the Market to see if that works any better (since they released the same version anyway, maybe the one in the market works better for android 2.0?)
     
  9. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    I installed 7.4 the first day it came out and I experienced problems immediately. BTW, I use the update.zip method. I simply did a reinstall again using the update.zip method and that solved all my problems.

    Yesterday I tried Taz's new kernel at 1.3 and 1.1 and experienced problems with both. I then reinstalled 7.4 and all is well again.
     
  10. mav7

    mav7 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just tried it.. I went to the market and saw an update for Google Maps. Installed update, and CardioTrainer still crashes. Thanks for the suggestion though.

    When you say reinstall, do you mean do a factory wipe and then re-run the update for 7.4?
     
  11. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    No. I just run the update.zip instructions again. I've never done a factory wipe sort of thing except when I rooted and installed my first rom. But only then because it was in the instructions to do so. That was about 5-6 roms ago now.
     
  12. Guchi

    Guchi Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
  13. blake2050

    blake2050 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have never liked the idea of loading a ROM on top of already installed programs and data. (cardio Trainer should have nothing to do with maps..)

    Do this:

    1. download MyBackup Pro ($5 I think, but worth it).
    2. Use that program to back up all the apps you want.
    3. Use same program and back up all the data you want. (contacts, sms, mms, etc..).
    4. Do a nandroid restore of Bugless Beast 0.7.4 using sprecovery. (fresh install will be better than update..)
    5. Once done reset your gmail account to sync.
    6. Go to market and download MyBackup Pro again (already purchased).
    7. Restore all your apps and your data.

    That should fix the problem...
     
  14. natediddy1120

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah that way you wouldn't lose ANYTHING and can still wipe everything clean whenever you install the ROM...
     
  15. natediddy1120

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +0
    Honestly, overall I haven't had any issues with BB.....or Sholes for that matter, other than Sholes not being able to handle 1+GHz

    So I'm sticking with BB for the moment :)
     
Search tags for this page

cardio trainer app has stopped error

,

how to turn off cardio trainer

,

samsung galaxy turn off cardio

,

turn off cario trainer samsung galaxy

,

unfotunately cardio trainer has stopped