1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

issues with backing up rom

Discussion in 'Samsung Fascinate Development' started by yummylishouz, Feb 19, 2011.

  1. yummylishouz
    Offline

    yummylishouz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    long island, ny
    i wanted to do a backup before applying a new theme. ive been rooted since i got my phone a few days ago. but its very different than the D1. so i go into rom manager and click on back up existing rom.. it then flashes to a screen of "installing update" or whatever.. doesnt do a back up.. idk if its cause i still have the update.zip file on my sd card? im so confused. and the menu is different in recovery.. any help would be great! thanks :)
  2. TAPOUT27
    Offline

    TAPOUT27 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    BRENTWOOD, TN
    reboot recovery manually and backup that way

    hold vol up+vol down+pwr button to get into recovery
  3. yummylishouz
    Offline

    yummylishouz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    long island, ny
    my only choices are all lit up in blue.. i click on update from sd card, it does something for 2 seconds then reboots.
  4. yummylishouz
    Offline

    yummylishouz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    long island, ny
    ok so i figured out my problem is that i cannot get into CWR, only the samsung recovery..
  5. vi3tboiii54
    Offline

    vi3tboiii54 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    that happened to me before you need to flash cwm recovery again and make sure update.zip is still on the sd card I just don't use rom manager anymore after that

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
  6. vi3tboiii54
    Offline

    vi3tboiii54 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    and from now on perform a nandroid backup in cwmr

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
  7. yummylishouz
    Offline

    yummylishouz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    long island, ny
    thanks for the help! im at work so i cant do it right now anyway. but my issue is i installed cwm through the odin eb01 froyo zip. so that means id have to reinstall that whole thing?

    and once i reinstall it, then i would always have to manually reboot in recovery and nandroid from there?
  8. vi3tboiii54
    Offline

    vi3tboiii54 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    oh you installed the whole package, well you can just leave EB01 along with the kernels on there and just use odin to get the latest CWMR back on there. To get to nandroid backup just boot to CWMR manually or through the boot menu at the home screen. Also make sure your update.zip file is still on the SD card, are you running stock EB01, deodexed, or superclean?

    Heres the link for jt1134's cwm-recovery-ALL.tar file
    Updated ClockworkMod for ALL ROMs
  9. yummylishouz
    Offline

    yummylishouz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    long island, ny
    deodexed. thanks for the link! i really appreciate it!
  10. vi3tboiii54
    Offline

    vi3tboiii54 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    your welcome report back if you have issues
  11. yummylishouz
    Offline

    yummylishouz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    long island, ny
    i absolutely will! no better way to learn than to ask! i wont be able to get to it tonight, but first thing in the morning. thanks again!
  12. yummylishouz
    Offline

    yummylishouz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    long island, ny
    worked great!! thanks so much for the help!
  13. vi3tboiii54
    Offline

    vi3tboiii54 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    no problem glad I can help

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
  14. yummylishouz
    Offline

    yummylishouz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    long island, ny
    hey, wondering if you could help solve this problem? so the cwmr file you sent works. but everytime I wipe data/cache to install a new Rom the only recovery mode available is the stock samsung. so I have to keep reflashing the recovery every time I change something. is there something I'm.not doing right, that its not sticking?

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
  15. vi3tboiii54
    Offline

    vi3tboiii54 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    hmmm so everytime you boot to CWMR it shows the blue stock rocovery mode instead of the red one? There might be a conflict with the CWMR kernel you might have to start fresh again by wiping all data/cache, system restore, flash the EB01 modem tar file again, then the latest CWMR, after that flash DL30(superclean, deodexed, or stock ROM) in the install zip file. Sorry if im not the troubleshooting type person also did you try pressing the soft home button on update.zip in the samsung recovery? I remembered awhile ago that took me to red CWMR when i pressed it.
  16. yummylishouz
    Offline

    yummylishouz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    long island, ny
    its really frustrating! maybe i should just start from scratch cause i cant get into CWMR unless i go into odin and reflash it. and if im already in odin i might as well start from scratch? i just want the CWMR to STICK so i dont have to keep reflashing.
  17. vi3tboiii54
    Offline

    vi3tboiii54 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
  18. yummylishouz
    Offline

    yummylishouz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    long island, ny
    whats with the "right click extract here after dl but before using"? when flash in odin is it supposed to be a .rar or .md5? cause that could actually be my problem.. since i didnt do that the last time i flashed.. and also.. the CWMR that you gave me last week, is it the same as the one in the package?

    ps, thanks for all the help! :)
  19. vi3tboiii54
    Offline

    vi3tboiii54 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    These files are compressed to save space and bandwidth so you need to extract them to whatever location you want(desktop,documents,etc). When you flash in odin its supposed to be a .rar file last time i flashed an .md5 was to return back to stock DL09 modem and ROM but so far EB01 and DL30 leaks are all .tar files. The latest CWMR i provided is included in the package as well.

    Heres both .zip and .tar files. The zip file you can try flashing in your clockwork if you can get access to it. The tar file you flash in odin but it seems like it doesnt stick like you said.
    cwm-recovery-ALL zip
    cwm-recovery-ALL odin

    No problem hope this all helps! You know where to find me if you get stuck again!
  20. yummylishouz
    Offline

    yummylishouz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    long island, ny
    when i right click on the .md5 on my comp it doesnt give me an option to extract?