1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Issues running web server (PAW server) on Droid

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by peterpressure, Jan 2, 2010.

  1. peterpressure
    Offline

    peterpressure New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I setup "PAW server for Android" last night (free from the market app) so I could setup a HTTP server on my Droid for simple directory browsing of my SD card.

    It works great when I am on wifi (I get a local 192.x.x.x:8080 adress), I can browse my sd card from my web browser on my PC and download files from my Droid, but when I disconnect from wifi and it redirects to my Verizon 3g WAN ip address, I am not able to reach the site.

    Anyone else ever try to setup a web server on the Droid and have similar results? I wonder if Verizon is blocking port 8080 so I cannot host a web server on my device?

    Motorola Droid F/W 2.01

    Sources:
    PAW Server for Android
    fun2code.de - Home
  2. RichStevenson
    Offline

    RichStevenson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Medina, OH
    I just installed it and it worked perfect using port 8080 over 3G.
  3. peterpressure
    Offline

    peterpressure New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the reply!

    Are you sure you are using an outside connection?
    When I use wifi (192.168.2.x:8080) It works fine.

    When I use 3g, I get a random Verizon IP and from any device using my Droid as Wifi Hotspot (using the wifi tether root hack) they can connect via port 8080, but When I use a device outside my local network, I cannot connect over 8080.

    I am very curious what is different in our 2 configurations. I tried this before I rooted and wifi tethered my phone. Droid 2.01.
  4. RichStevenson
    Offline

    RichStevenson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Medina, OH
    Positive I'm on the 3G network. It's a public IP it's displaying. Try rebooting the phone and if you're saying that you're trying to use it while running the tethering app, try it without running it. I am rooted 2.0.1 but I don't think that's allowing me to use it. Prior to rooting I used an FTP server over 3G without issue.
  5. peterpressure
    Offline

    peterpressure New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Very strange, I have been trying to get this to work for over a month now, so many many reboots and non-wifi tethering tests have been tried.

    Really want to figure this out, my girlfriend has a Droid which is very clean, I will try it on hers before I give up.
  6. peterpressure
    Offline

    peterpressure New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tried it on another Stock 2.01 Droid, still a no go man.

    http://97.56.21.117:8080/

    Nuthing!!!

    All I can think is my area has started blocking ports, and yours has not. I am clueless as to why yours works and mine simply don't....

    Mind posting your IP for a minute, I would love to see for myself :)
  7. RichStevenson
    Offline

    RichStevenson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Medina, OH
    I sent you a pm. Let me know when you've seen it
  8. carbine
    Offline

    carbine New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Akron, Ohio
    I am also getting no luck using 3G.

    Pinging it gets nothing, nmap returns nothing.

    Edit: Here are my nmap results:

    Last edited: Jan 18, 2010
  9. peterpressure
    Offline

    peterpressure New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also, I have been e-mailing the Developer maintaning PAW Server.

  10. zeitgeist
    Offline

    zeitgeist New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Any update on this. I see this was back in 1/18/2010. I can't connect via 3G either. I can connect over wifi just fine. I'm running stock 2.1...

    Perhaps Verizon is just blocking ports in certain areas? Any update on this would be great.

    Thanks!
  11. peterpressure
    Offline

    peterpressure New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Verizon is blocking ports on certain towers in certain areas. Not much we can do.
  12. zeitgeist
    Offline

    zeitgeist New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the info. Does anyone know if it's going one way or the other (i.e. are they planning on opening these blocked areas up... or are they planning on blocking the open areas)?

    Surprisingly there is not much information on google about this. I suppose it's because most people don't really care to run servers on their mobile devices. Truly unfortunate.... anyone who has used the PAW application would want to have it available over 3G. I hope it's going in the way of more openness.

    Has anyone found any better option, short of using a proxy (similar to swiftp)?
  13. peterpressure
    Offline

    peterpressure New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have not contacted Verizon Wireless, but I am curious what they would say.

    I think a proxy is our only choice at this point.
  14. zeitgeist
    Offline

    zeitgeist New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was curious too. I did call and Verizon claims they do not block any ports. I was fairly certain they did at least block all ports below 2000. It would be great to get some authoritative documentation on this.

    I suspect if I called their tech support 5 times, I would get 5 different answers.
  15. peterpressure
    Offline

    peterpressure New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sometimes I do wonder if it is a problem with the app because don't other apps have the same problems?
  16. joschi70
    Offline

    joschi70 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The application is opening the port in a standard manner and binds to all interfaces.
    So I don't think that this is a problem of the application.
    If someone has an idea how to get around this problem, please let me know.
  17. zeitgeist
    Offline

    zeitgeist New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Too bad there is no hamachi client for android. If anyone is looking for an idea for an app... Have a VPN client that operates at the application level would bypass this, a bit at least.
Search tags for this page
android webserver works over wifi but it does not work over
,
host http server on phone android 3g
,
how to setup web site in paw server
,
how to use page kite with paw server
,
paw android
,

paw server

,
paw server android source code
,
paw server could not be started
,
paw server not working
,
paw server source
,
paw server the server could not be started
,
paw web server
,
pawserver pagekite
,
personal web server android
,
probleme ip serveur paw