1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Issues Connecting my DROID to My PC

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by whoster69, Dec 30, 2009.

  1. whoster69
    Offline

    whoster69 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ukiah, CA
    I've tried connecting my DROID to my Windows 7 PC using the supplied USB cable. I was able to download pictures I took without a problem using Windows Explorer, but when I try to download images off of the SD card (wallpapers I downloaded on my DROID) it will download one, maybe two fairly quickly and then it will go into this pause, download a little, pause routine and end up taking over 20 minutes to get one picture if it even ever finishes that. Any ideas why? I'm using Advanced Task Killer to kill any apps before I hook my DROID to my PC. I'm connecting it to a USB 2.0 port on my HP computer.

    I'm just looking for a way to back up my apps and wallpapers and download any pictures I take.

    If anyone has some ideas on how to get it so I can do this, please let me know.

    Thanks.
  2. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you tried this without killing any apps? which is totally unnecessary btw...
  3. whoster69
    Offline

    whoster69 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ukiah, CA
    No I haven't. When I first hard boot my DROID, it runs very slowly until I kill a bunch of the background processes. I stupidly installed too many apps when I first got it (probably around 100 or so), not knowing which ones would load as background processes on bootup. Too many are doing that I think and that is why I used Advanced Task Killer.
  4. whoster69
    Offline

    whoster69 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ukiah, CA
    Well, I tried a fresh hard boot to my phone and didn't kill any processes. The phone still hangs after transferring a file or two.

    Any ideas?
  5. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmmm.... perplexing. Maybe try transferring with Task Killer uninstalled?
  6. whoster69
    Offline

    whoster69 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ukiah, CA
    I'll try that. Any apps known to cause this problem?

    Thanks.
  7. whoster69
    Offline

    whoster69 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ukiah, CA
    Well, I tried uninstalling Task Killer and it didn't help. Is it easy to remove the SD card? Can I just place it in a reader? I'm beginning to suspect I have a faulty SD card.
  8. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Card just slides right out....

    Copy the card on to your PC (save everything)
    format the card
    copy everything back....

    Might help....
  9. whoster69
    Offline

    whoster69 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ukiah, CA
    Yeah, I'm beginning to wonder if I've got a badly formatted card or something. Some files copy just fine, and other refuse to copy. Windows says it is calculating space and then nothing happens.
  10. whoster69
    Offline

    whoster69 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ukiah, CA
    Well, I just got the message "Damaged SD card". This is the second time in about 2 weeks I've had this message.
  11. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You within 30 days from VZW? if so take it back and exchange it....
  12. whoster69
    Offline

    whoster69 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ukiah, CA
    No my 30 days was up on Dec. 27th. Does this mean I have to buy a new 16GB card?

    By the way, I pulled the card, and plugged it into my PC. I can now read the files, but have the same issue as before. It obviously isn't the phone or any apps that are causing this. It is either a badly formatted card or a bad card.

    Any ideas on the best way to format it? Should I use the phone or the PC?

    Thanks again.
  13. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would go into a corp store and ask about getting it replaced....

    you should format it in the device it's to be used in is what I always went with....
  14. whoster69
    Offline

    whoster69 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ukiah, CA
    OK. I went through each directory file by file and copied over the ones I could and deleted the ones I couldn't. I'm not sure if I just had some cross linked files or a problem with this memory card. Anyway, I ran an analysis on the SD card using Windows 7 standard tools. Then I reformatted the SD card using FAT32 (like it was formatted). I'm going to copy my working files back to the card and then try to boot my phone and see what happens. Most of the files that had errors were wallpaper pictures I had downloaded. Maybe something went wrong during the download? Anway, I did have two directories that I couldn't get all the files out of:

    Dolphin
    espeakdata

    I'm not sure what espeak data is. Does anyone know? Dolphin I think is the Dolphin browser which I did have installed. I can uninstall and then reinstall it.

    Anything else I should do?

    Thanks again.
  15. whoster69
    Offline

    whoster69 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ukiah, CA
    Thanks. I didn't see this before I formatted it in Win 7, so we'll see how that goes...
Search tags for this page
connecting android to computer issues
,
droid 2 my computer
,
having trouble downloading my photos from my droid razrm to
,

how to connect my droid to my pc

,
how to link my droid 2 to the computer
,
trouble connecting my htc droid to my computer