issue with touch screen on froyo

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by speckit, Jun 8, 2010.

  1. speckit
    Offline

    speckit Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i just installed the newest froyo from droid-life and now my touch screen is acting up badly, i have to almost long press the keyboard to get it to recognize a letter, pinch to zoom is unusable, when scrolling through the launcher it skips up and down and its hard to press on any one thing, i know i could wipe data and cache, but im going to see if i can try something else has anyone else had this problem?

    it also goes on and off one second its fine another its happening again
  2. themuffinman612
    Offline

    themuffinman612 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's not your screen, it's stuttering and lag. The more you use the ROM, the faster it'll be, it has to cache itself. Also make sure you have one of the P3droid kernels installed. Mine runs pretty friggin smooth at 1 ghz. I've gone through multiple reinstalls, this ROM just takes a reeeeeeeally long time before it becomes smooth and like any other ROM. You just gotta be patient. I know, why should you have to wait for your phone to speed up, but trust me, it's worth it.
  3. validoption
    Offline

    validoption Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also, the default launcher is not the best...try installing Launcher Pro or ADW for a truly blazing and responsive experienced.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  4. floyd
    Offline

    floyd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +1
    Takes 20 mins or so to sync stuff up too. Definitely a lot of background activity going on in a fresh install. Patience.

    --curmudgeon approved--
  5. lee__D
    Offline

    lee__D Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i noticed that it felt like i had to press harder on the homescreen for it to recognize my touch. i.e. when trying to scroll through home screens....launcher pro is so much better than stock and that issue is gone
  6. Droidee
    Offline

    Droidee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there anyway to get my trusty 3D helix launchers working on froyo?
  7. validoption
    Offline

    validoption Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't see why you couldn't just install it...did you try and it didn't work? I would seriously consider giving LP or ADW a try, though...way better than Helix, IMO.

    Sent from my Droid
  8. rebelsoul
    Offline

    rebelsoul New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    ME too!

    I have been using froyo since sunday and just today (wed) my touch screen has went to hell! Havent installed anything today but i cant even use my phone now. It seemed to happen rather suddenly too. So im going to say no its not a "warming" up issue but something else and i have no idea what it is. ALSO i am/was using Launcher pro...im stuck with using keypad only now :( this blows....
  9. solution
    Offline

    solution Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Been using launcher PRO from the marketplace running super smooth on 2.2

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk