Issue with contacts populating

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by HarleyDad09, Nov 13, 2009.

  1. HarleyDad09

    HarleyDad09 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I go to send an SMS, I will start typing a contact into the To: field, and it will not recognize the contact even though i know for a fact it is in there. I cannot send a text to certain people unless I go into my contacts, find them, and select send SMS. Any ideas?
     
  2. technique

    technique Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am having the EXACT same issue. Any ideas on why this is happening? I installed Chomp SMS and that works just fine, but the default messaging app does NOT find my contacts when I type in someone's name.
     
  3. HarleyDad09

    HarleyDad09 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I installed Handcent and it works GREAT!! How is CHOMP?
     
  4. technique

    technique Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Chomp is great. That and handcent are the two favorits of most people.

    I just wish I knew why contacts did not autopopulate with the default messaging app,but whatever, chomp is much nicer so I'm just never going back to the default app :)
     
  5. Alexander180

    Alexander180 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    check what type of number it is in your actual contact list. if it is stored under "work" it will not auto populate. but if you edit it and change it to mobile instead it works just fine.
     
  6. technique

    technique Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You solved it! Works perfectly now. Thanks!
     
Search tags for this page

android contacts not populating

,
contact not populating in android sms
,
droid 3 autopopulate contacts