Is this possible?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by Fenway72, May 13, 2011.

  1. Fenway72
    Offline

    Fenway72 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry to harp the subject, but is it possible to pull the working bluetooth from the froyo release and put it in the gingerbread one?

    I've been looking about to fix this and there is absolutley no help at all on the subject. Am I the only one who's bluetooth doesnt work for voice calls? Is there any way to fix this? This is EXTREMELY important to me that this feature works.

    Sorry if I'm being a pest about it, but this is vital!

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  2. Fenway72
    Offline

    Fenway72 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone know? Can this be done?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  3. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    My opinion is that if it was that easy one of the devs would already have done it. Have you tried all the roms for your phone. Maybe one of them will work for you.

    Good luck.
  4. Fenway72
    Offline

    Fenway72 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    After reading the threads for the other roms, I am unable to find out wether or not the Bluetooth works on any of them. I'm not feeling lucky enough to try each one just to find out that none of them work either. I also don't have that kind of time to sit with my phone all day to install different roms just to find one with working Bluetooth.

    So the end result is- this is a deal breaker. Not to mention having to switch to airplane mode after every call just to get 3G connectivity back.

    I'd have to say that just because something is partially functional, doesn't make it good. I'm not bashing on any devs as I'm sure they work very hard to release these even in the shape they're in, but the least they could do afterwards is offer a disclaimer that it's not entirely working.

    It may save some people a lot of time and frustration.
  5. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Well, in the world of Droid 1's, none of the devs have released a final GB Rom. All are listed as beta. Also, you need to be aware that all our phones are different and work with different roms. On mine I found that Chevy's Roms worked the best and PE worked the worse. That doesn't mean that PE's roms are bad. It is different for each phone. If you like the GB stuff, then you should try some of the other roms.

    If you read the threads for the other roms and do not find mention of Bluetooth issue, then give that rom a try. Good luck!!

    BTW, in the spirit of full disclosure - I went back to Froyo roms!! They all run pretty much perfectly on my Droid 1.

    Again, good luck with your phone!!
  6. NiceGuysFinishLast
    Offline

    NiceGuysFinishLast Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    Uhh.. It's an android phone. It's pre-release software that was STOLEN from Moto/Verizon and released before it was finished. OF COURSE YOU SHOULD EXPECT BUGS.

    If it was a final release, and it worked smoothly and reliably, then VZW would have pushed the update.
  7. Fenway72
    Offline

    Fenway72 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Right, I understand that. However the people who release the roms should post disclaimers for the features that don't work.


    This is my point.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  8. NiceGuysFinishLast
    Offline

    NiceGuysFinishLast Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    Yes. Because the Devs should know that their ROM will work on EVERY phone the SAME WAY. Even though there's literally dozens of different Android handsets that all run the "same" software. If ROMs don't work the same between two of the SAME phone, what makes you think they'll work the same across the whole line?

    These things happen. Sometimes things just don't work, even though in theory, they SHOULD. Hell, for all we know, the bluetooth works fine, and you just got a bad flash to GB. The fact that nobody has posted in your other thread leads me to believe this might be an isolated issue. I'm on 4 different android forums and haven't seen anyone else mention this.
  9. jaycemiskel
    Offline

    jaycemiskel Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +2
    Bluetooth works fine on my DROID2 running GB and I always get 3g connectivity back after a call....

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
  10. Fenway72
    Offline

    Fenway72 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Care to share what rom you use and install method?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  11. jaycemiskel
    Offline

    jaycemiskel Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +2
    I went from stock to the rooted gb leak following the instructions provided with the download. Works great for me.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
  12. Fenway72
    Offline

    Fenway72 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    There are a few different rooted GB leaks. Do you have a link to the one you used?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  13. jaycemiskel
    Offline

    jaycemiskel Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +2
    I don't have the link but I'm pretty sure I got it from MyDroidWorld. If you want, when I get off of work I can upload it and give you a link so you can try it.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
  14. Fenway72
    Offline

    Fenway72 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That would be great! I am looking to do this on Tuesday. (That's when ill have the time as now I have to flash back to stock prior to mounting the rom. Right now I'm on the monster 2.3.3. Its stable enough, just that voice over BT is non existant.

    I think I know how it got screwed up though. I installed it over the deodexed 928 black glass theme. Granted it was considered 2.3.20, just not stock.

    At least I hope that was the problem.



    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  15. jaycemiskel
    Offline

    jaycemiskel Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +2
Search tags for this page

pico tts gingerbread