1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Is this ok before I go on?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by kombat, Oct 1, 2011.

  1. kombat
    Offline

    kombat New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm wanting install a ROM to my OG Droid but am seeing some things that don't mesh with what I'm reading online so I want to make sure everything is ok.

    I installed ROM Manager and did a backup. That went fine. But now everytime I try to do anything in ROM Manager it reboots and just sits at the screen with the warning triangle with a phone laying next to it. Even when I try to do another backup, which worked the first time. I've learned that from the warning triangle I can hit Vol+ and Camera button to get to recovery mode. But I don't see a recovery option. It says Android system recovery (3e), and the only options are reboot system now, apply sdcard:update.zip, wipe data/factory reset, wipe cache partition, and wipe baseband data. Seems that since this is recovery mode that there should be an option to recover, right?

    So as I see it, I don't see any way to restore my phone anymore so I am very hesitant to move on in case something goes wrong. Please advise.
  2. mmiillkkaa
    Offline

    mmiillkkaa New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is2 recovery-from-boot have .not at the end i

    Sent from my DROID using DroidForums
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2011
  3. mmiillkkaa
    Offline

    mmiillkkaa New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry, phone going crazy, will post later

    Sent from my DROID using DroidForums
  4. androidgeek
    Offline

    androidgeek New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Asheville
    Use RDS to flash custom recovery. Make sure you're completely wiped data/cashe and then go from there.
  5. joeyx2
    Offline

    joeyx2 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Its been a while since i played with a og droid but it sounds like u r in the stock recovery. U need to install a custom recovery. U can do that throw rom manager as well as everything else. Try reflashing clockworkmod recovery again.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  6. kombat
    Offline

    kombat New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks. I don't know how that happened. I know I flashed clockwork recovery before. At least I know what the deal is now. Thanks.
  7. joeyx2
    Offline

    joeyx2 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No problem

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums