is there any way to disable the stock music player?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by steeveegee, Dec 8, 2010.

  1. steeveegee

    steeveegee Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    in a van down by the river
    Ratings:
    +2
    I've been using power amp which is awesome btw
    but i have one problem
    when i connect to bluetooth audio in my car and sometimes with my headset it starts the stock music player
    so sometimes i have two songs going at once
    is there any way that i can disable the stock player from doing this?
     
  2. musicman

    musicman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can freeze the stock music app with titanium if you are rooted.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  3. timrock

    timrock Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i was wondering this too. when i plug in my beats headphones and press the play button on them, it starts the stock player, even though i have power amp as my default. there has to be another way.
     
  4. fourtySIXand2

    fourtySIXand2 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm having the same problem..
    When I use the headset button to switch a track on power amp the stock player keeps starting up.. I never had this issue before, just the past few days.
    I wanna trash that stock player.. any help?!
     
  5. musicman

    musicman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    There is a solution. Root the phone and either remove the music player app or freeze it with titanium backup.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  6. fourtySIXand2

    fourtySIXand2 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I keep hearing about rootingn and not quite sure what that is. From what I gather you need a PC to do this?
    To use this titanium freeze or whatever do I also need to root the phone?
    Also does rooting void insurance warrenties and all that??
    Thanks for the help my man!
     
  7. musicman

    musicman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I also had no idea what rooting was until I got my droid x. First, it will void your warranty. This was a big concern of mine at first until I realized that I can unroot my phone as easily as I rooted it. But there is still risk involved. There are a tons of ways to root. I used z4root one click method and it took about 30 seconds. Before using any root methods I would recommend doing some more research and becoming more educated on what you are doing. A simple search in the forum will give you all the info you need.

    To freeze apps with titanium you must be rooted.

    I highly recommend rooting, but definitely learn more about it first.

    Other advantages of rooting are overclocking your phone (speeding it up), complete customization, getting rid of bloatware. That just a few but it is worth out in my opinion.

    Good luck and enjoy.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  8. musicman

    musicman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh yeah, you don't need a pc to do it.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  9. timrock

    timrock Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    will rooting cause me to lose everything on my phone, forcing me to reinstall everything.
     
  10. vatothe0

    vatothe0 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Possibly. This is why you need to read up on it first.
     
  11. timrock

    timrock Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks, i'll do that now.
     
  12. musicman

    musicman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It may cause a loss of info, but it is unlikely. However, once rooted you wil have the ability to backup your entire phone. This can only be done on rooted phones.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  13. timrock

    timrock Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the help. didnt lose anything. worked like a charm. now time to remove some crap.
     
  14. musicman

    musicman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    To do backups you just need titanium root, but to freeze apps you also need pro. Pro is just a key to unlock more features

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  15. timrock

    timrock Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    can i remove the slide to unlock now?
     
Search tags for this page
android disable music player
,
disable htc player
,

disable music player droid x

,
disable verizon music
,

droid x disable music player

,
droid x music player turn off
,
droid x turn off music player
,
how to disable the stock music player
,
make poweramp default music player
,
uninstall music player off your droid x