is there an updated swype app?

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by ucpro, Feb 22, 2010.

  1. ucpro
    Offline

    ucpro New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dothan, al
    i downloaded swype as soon as i heard about it maybe 2 months ago. has there been any updates??
  2. JustDriftin
    Offline

    JustDriftin New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It is not in the market, you will have to go to their web page to find out.
  3. bgdave
    Offline

    bgdave New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was wondering the same thing. I am currently running version 1. Anyone have anything higher than that?
  4. Freddy Chevy
    Offline

    Freddy Chevy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I went to the website but I don't see how to get it on my phone

    nevermind found it on my own
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2010
  5. bgdave
    Offline

    bgdave New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  6. naman919
    Offline

    naman919 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    v1 here as well.

    Anyone else have anything different?
  7. R1Lover
    Offline

    R1Lover New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    if it has been updated then the new version hasn't been leaked yet.
  8. joshnichols189
    Offline

    joshnichols189 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  9. Chief Wahoo
    Offline

    Chief Wahoo Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Central PA
    is there an updated link - I am running 1.0 and very interested in an update, but recognize that it will have to be leaked for us to gain access to it. Very interested.
  10. Vulcan1600
    Offline

    Vulcan1600 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    146
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Why do we need an updated version of Swype? I've been using the leaked one for the past 2 months without issue. It's great. Tonight I rooted my phone and it seemed so strange to use the default droid keyboard until I was able to reinstall Astro and get Swype installed again. I don't find the current version of Swype to have any bugs or anything.
  11. Sarreq Teryx
    Offline

    Sarreq Teryx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  12. Chief Wahoo
    Offline

    Chief Wahoo Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Central PA
    Fair question, for sure, I have had no issues either, for me, I guess it is just to ensure that I am up to date on any new features, not bugs, that they have out there.

    I really do like using Swype as is. In fact, I noticed today that I started trying to swype on my work keyboard. . . :)
  13. ipawd1
    Offline

    ipawd1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There is a popup, and while configuring the settings it will tell you that this version is not compatible with your screen resolution, ignore it, it works great.

    From what I can ascertain the guy who originally published this took the HVGA update and edited the graphics and xml files so that the app could work on WVGA devices (ie N1 and Droid).

    This version does have quite a few fixes and enhancements.

    I will have a mirror up shortly in case this dl link goes *poof*....
    [edit]
    Here's a better mirror. http://web.me.com/ardoreal/Swype-Swy...2.5228.219.apk
  14. Chief Wahoo
    Offline

    Chief Wahoo Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Central PA
    I am having troubles accessing the .apk. I was attempting to grab the .apk and send it to my Droid from my computer but I am unable to access it. Any help or guidance is appreciated.
  15. blue rocket
    Offline

    blue rocket Official DF Vendor Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    i've been using swype exclusively since it was first leaked....until the guys at xda released the HTC IME keyboard (you'll want v9). This keyboard is lightworlds away from anything i've typed on on a touchscreen device, i can type so fast and accurate i've disabled swype. I've also noticed a performance increase when using it compared to swype as well.
  16. Chief Wahoo
    Offline

    Chief Wahoo Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Central PA
    sounds like a keyboard worth checking out - does the keyboard have a Market accessible name or how would you advise finding it in the Market?
  17. nerdbox08
    Offline

    nerdbox08 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    I think this is the link you're looking for: [APP MOD] HTC_IME Keyboard (23rd February: hihres v9, lowres v4) - xda-developers

    I'm gonna go play with it.

    As for Swype, I know you understand we aren't supposed to have it, as in we are getting a leaked version, what I am not sure you completely understand is that Swype was never designed to run as a standalone application, the only way you are going to get an update to what we have is if someone else goes into an OS that supports Swype, pulls it out, recodes it and ports it into Droid.
  18. Chief Wahoo
    Offline

    Chief Wahoo Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Central PA
    Thanks for the link. I will research and read the thread from XDA.

    On Swype, I understand and am aware of your points. Would have liked Swype to consider a hybrid business model as I believe opening it up to others (aside from the OEM market) would have generated a fair amount of revenue as well. . .but I am not their CEO, so my opinion means little :)
  19. nerdbox08
    Offline

    nerdbox08 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan

    I just wasn't sure if you knew the complete limitations and I like to be thorough because thousands of people read these forums :)

    I do agree, they could make much more revenue by offering Swype as a market app, they would probably have a massive increase in sales because of it, but as you said, we aren't going to change that, lol.

    I just put the HTC keyboard on and checked it out. It's not bad for a normal input keyboard, actually it might be better than what we have. The keys are a bit more spaced out, etc. However, there isn't any way I could it after using Swype or SlideIt. ha ha.

    Good luck though, it might work for you. But as I see it, you just want some updates to what you already like! :icon_ banana:
  20. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Some people assume that newer always means better. I've heard that the leaked update has some bug fixes -- haven't seen details though.
Search tags for this page

swype for motorola blur