is there an updated swype app?

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by ucpro, Feb 22, 2010.

  1. ucpro

    ucpro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    dothan, al
    Ratings:
    +0
    i downloaded swype as soon as i heard about it maybe 2 months ago. has there been any updates??
     
  2. JustDriftin

    JustDriftin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    It is not in the market, you will have to go to their web page to find out.
     
  3. bgdave

    bgdave Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was wondering the same thing. I am currently running version 1. Anyone have anything higher than that?
     
  4. Freddy Chevy

    Freddy Chevy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I went to the website but I don't see how to get it on my phone

    nevermind found it on my own
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2010
  5. bgdave

    bgdave Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. naman919

    naman919 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    v1 here as well.

    Anyone else have anything different?
     
  7. R1Lover

    R1Lover Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,701
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    if it has been updated then the new version hasn't been leaked yet.
     
  8. joshnichols189

    joshnichols189 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  9. Chief Wahoo

    Chief Wahoo Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    South Central PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    is there an updated link - I am running 1.0 and very interested in an update, but recognize that it will have to be leaked for us to gain access to it. Very interested.
     
  10. Vulcan1600

    Vulcan1600 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,717
    Likes Received:
    168
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +169
    Why do we need an updated version of Swype? I've been using the leaked one for the past 2 months without issue. It's great. Tonight I rooted my phone and it seemed so strange to use the default droid keyboard until I was able to reinstall Astro and get Swype installed again. I don't find the current version of Swype to have any bugs or anything.
     
  11. Sarreq Teryx

    Sarreq Teryx Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  12. Chief Wahoo

    Chief Wahoo Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    South Central PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Fair question, for sure, I have had no issues either, for me, I guess it is just to ensure that I am up to date on any new features, not bugs, that they have out there.

    I really do like using Swype as is. In fact, I noticed today that I started trying to swype on my work keyboard. . . :)
     
  13. ipawd1

    ipawd1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    There is a popup, and while configuring the settings it will tell you that this version is not compatible with your screen resolution, ignore it, it works great.

    From what I can ascertain the guy who originally published this took the HVGA update and edited the graphics and xml files so that the app could work on WVGA devices (ie N1 and Droid).

    This version does have quite a few fixes and enhancements.

    I will have a mirror up shortly in case this dl link goes *poof*....
    [edit]
    Here's a better mirror. http://web.me.com/ardoreal/Swype-Swy...2.5228.219.apk
     
  14. Chief Wahoo

    Chief Wahoo Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    South Central PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am having troubles accessing the .apk. I was attempting to grab the .apk and send it to my Droid from my computer but I am unable to access it. Any help or guidance is appreciated.
     
  15. blue rocket

    blue rocket Official DF Vendor Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    CT
    Ratings:
    +0
    i've been using swype exclusively since it was first leaked....until the guys at xda released the HTC IME keyboard (you'll want v9). This keyboard is lightworlds away from anything i've typed on on a touchscreen device, i can type so fast and accurate i've disabled swype. I've also noticed a performance increase when using it compared to swype as well.
     
Search tags for this page

swype for motorola blur