Is there a way

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by msu, Jan 7, 2010.

  1. msu

    msu Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Midwest
    Ratings:
    +0
    to add apps to the Shortcuts list? Like when you press and hold on screen. I would love to put some of my apps in there instead of having them on the screen etc..
     
  2. bamfsig45

    bamfsig45 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    883
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    ICT
    Ratings:
    +0
    dont think so but that is a good idea.
     
  3. 640k

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    i'm not sure i follow. so you want to long press your homescreen and then go to a shortcut? isn't it easier to just open the apps tab and locate your app?

    what you can do is create folders on your desktop and then drop apps there. that's what i do for my most used apps. i have four folders on my screen and because of which, only require the use of one screen.
     
  4. msu

    msu Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Midwest
    Ratings:
    +0
    I like the shortcut method. I'm running Pandahome so I do have the slide outs on the sides which something will go in there and some will not?

    Just looking for another option. I just don't like how android controls what goes in the shortcuts area and what doesn't. You should be able to control that IMHO.
     
  5. 640k

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    still not following. what shortcut area? in the long-press menu???
     
  6. msu

    msu Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Midwest
    Ratings:
    +0
    press and hold any main screen, then shortcut will be right there to select.

    This may all be irrelevant when 2.1 comes out though. I thought I also read that they are getting rid of the apps slide button at the bottom for something else?
     
  7. RAWR IM A DROID RAWR

    Ratings:
    +0
    No.

    It's still there, but redesigned.
     
  8. 640k

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    just use folders. you can put whatever you want in there.