Is there a way to use a droid without the data plan

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by mistersoul, Jul 15, 2010.

  1. mistersoul
    Offline

    mistersoul New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I want to have a phone with usefull offline apps and I only want data through my wifi. I asked around a little with Verizon, and they said it is impossible to get a droid without the data package. Is there a way to work around it?
  2. Dustinmj
    Offline

    Dustinmj New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you have one... just activate it on a VZW line then activate your regular phone... after it's initially activated you are good to go.

    If you don't have one... try CL or Ebay for a used one if you only want it for wifi.
  3. USCChem
    Offline

    USCChem New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Dustinmj has it right.

    The contract only applies to the base calling plan. You can add/remove features as desired (such as a data plan or messaging package) with no penalties. However, Verizon will not under any circumstances allow you to have the Droid activated on their network without a data plan. They're very, very, adamant about that.
    Meaning you would not be able to use it as a phone. although I suppose you could text with it on WiFi (remember that it does not permit Skype to be used on WiFi.) Like Dustinmj said, you would have to use a different, non-smartphone as the phone activated on your plan.

    I guess basically you could think of it as being the Android counterpart to an iPod Touch if you wanted to use it without a data plan.

    If you plan on going the eBay route, beware of the phones with bad ESNs. It might be tempting since they're usually quite cheap and, after all, it makes no difference to you, as you don't want to activate it, but be cautioned that these are almost always stolen or lost (& unreturned to the owner). The ESN goes bad when the owner of it reports that they lost it or it was stolen — and if somehow it got tracked down, you'll be the one held responsible for charges of purchasing stolen property.
  4. mistersoul
    Offline

    mistersoul New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    TY, but after further research, neither of these replies are true. There was an extensive thread in here on the subject. Under current Verizon policy it is outside of the contract covenants to use a data capable phone on their network without the purchase of a data plan. bummer.

    I would like to note that this seems contrary to the open source ideals and values of consumer freedom that android was founded on.
  5. MNTNBKR
    Offline

    MNTNBKR Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Fenton, MI
    Mistersoul, both of the prior posts are in fact correct. They are both telling you that you can use the droid AFTER THE INITIAL ACTIVATION without having it associated with or linked to a verizon network.

    You have to activate the Droid first, which initially would require a data plan. After that (same day if you want to), you switch back to your old non-smartphone, cancel your data plan, and use your Droid as a PDA.
  6. USCChem
    Offline

    USCChem New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Did you even read my post? That is EXACTLY what I said.
    Verizon's policies have nothing to do with Android.
  7. venk25
    Offline

    venk25 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just trying to understand - what is need to activate the Droid with data plan first if the Droid is going to be swapped out? The Droid can be used as a PDA even without these steps.
  8. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The droid can be used as a PDA...It can use wifi.

    If you wish the droid to have cell service then you must have a data plan.
  9. scottsdca
    Offline

    scottsdca New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No way to disguise from verizon that it's a smartphone?

    Just wondering if there was some way to make it look like you're calling from a regular phone. Seems you should be able to use it as you see fit once you've met the contract's requirement— ie paid the data fees until your contract ended and you own the phone without any restrictions. Anybody wanna start a class action? ;)
  10. CathodeRayTube
    Offline

    CathodeRayTube New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsyilvania
    Nothing is impossible..

    Wouldn't it be possible to subscribe to a basic plan with a basic "dumb-phone", and then clone the dumb-phones ESN into the smartphone..? allowing it to operate with basic voice/texting just as if it were the original dumb-phone...But then utilize WiFi for anything internet based...


    CRT
  11. brandon9559
    Offline

    brandon9559 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow...

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  12. CathodeRayTube
    Offline

    CathodeRayTube New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsyilvania
    Wow what? Does that seem like a viable solution or am i missing something?
  13. brandon9559
    Offline

    brandon9559 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Clone a ESN? Come on man

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  14. CathodeRayTube
    Offline

    CathodeRayTube New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsyilvania
    Its been done before. perhaps "clone" was the wrong word...CHANGING the ESN...has nobody heard of this?
  15. brandon9559
    Offline

    brandon9559 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Never heard of such a thing. Even if you could I doubt it would get you out of paying for data...and definitely illegal.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
Search tags for this page
activate droid without data plan
,
activating droid x without data plan
,
android hack data plan
,
can you get a droid without a data plan
,

can you use a droid without a data plan

,

can you use a droid x without a data plan

,
droid a855 no data plan
,
droid x without data plan
,
how to get unlimited data on verizon hack
,
how to hack data plan on android