Is there a way to just have Nav on with no destination?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by minmongoblin, May 30, 2010.

  1. minmongoblin

    minmongoblin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It would be neat to just let the GPS feature run, see road names, restaurants, etc
     
  2. tktouch12

    tktouch12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    that would be kind of cool at times. there should be a way, if there isnt
     
  3. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,260
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    You can run Maps all the time if you want....It shows your position.
     
  4. minmongoblin

    minmongoblin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That wasn't my question, I did know that
     
  5. icculusX

    icculusX Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    The Moon
    Ratings:
    +0
    But isn't what Backnblack said the same exact thing? I mean itll show you roads and such? What do you need thats in the navigation view that better than maps?
     
  6. razorseal

    razorseal Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's something alot of people want, but for some reason they haven't added it...
     
  7. rjax

    rjax Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I haven't tried this personally, but according to this post: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...ogle-maps-navigation-question.html#post456764

    Another work around option is to set a location a few hundred feet from where you are. Once you reach the location the map will change to Google Street View. There should be an arrow in the bottom left corner, and when you hit that you will return the the "Follow Me Map". As long as you only hit that arrow, and not the back button it should continue to follow you around. The only glitch I found was when you are stopped, it will return to the bird's eye view, but as soon as you start moving again it will return to the following mode.
     
  8. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,260
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    :icon_rolleyes:
     
  9. minmongoblin

    minmongoblin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank, rjax! Very helpful
     
  10. Vulcan1600

    Vulcan1600 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,806
    Likes Received:
    231
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +240
    I'm confused what the O.P. wants. Instead of jumping through hoops, select "maps" and hit menu, then my location, and away you go. Zoom in/out, select your view, and it will follow you wherever you're traveling to and if you have the layers set up, it will tell you the landmarks you're approaching and the road you are on.
     
  11. pmcnano

    pmcnano New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I do understand the OP's question. For example, I am @ Mexico, I cant use navigation because it fails to find routers, even with the hacked version. BUT

    I would be so nice to see the "Navigation view" (the GPS alike view..) showing you your speed, the street you are driving in, etc...BUT I cant do it, the only way to do it its to select a source and destination inside the US then I will get the navigation view, but there will be a message in the top telling me something if I close it it will come back to maps view. Not sure if I explained myself, but we just want a way to see navigation view.
     
  12. rjax

    rjax Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Glad to help!

    Yeah, OP wants 3D Nav view, not birdseye Maps view. My post above is a supposed workaround that will give you 3D Nav view without being guided to a destination. Or if you don't mind having irrelevant directions, you could of course just select a destination thousands of miles away.