Is there a way to install the stock browser on the black hole ROM?

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Roms' started by rck76, Aug 26, 2012.

  1. rck76

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    Loving the battery life on this bloatware free ROM but I also prefer the stock browser. Chrome doesn't support flash and I'm not crazy about the display of Firefox or skyfire. Also the stock browser has an exit option. Anyway, I tried pulling the apk from the stock rom, putting it in /system/apps, setting permissions and rebooting and it didn't work. Also I tried putting it in data/apps and that didn't work either. Does anyone know why this is happening and how to get it to work? Thanks for any help:)

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  2. cobravnm13

    cobravnm13 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Alabama
    Ratings:
    +34
    Did you tap on it, click install, then reboot? Try doing your first process again then installing before reboot.

    Sent from my 3rd reincarnation of the ever-so-lovable Droid
     
  3. rck76

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    It does not install, parser error, system apps usually do that. I'm on ICS leak 232 if that matters.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  4. deduct

    deduct Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +28
    Have you tried dolphin browser? It has an exit option by holding down back key. And it is the easiest browser to use I think.
     
  5. cobravnm13

    cobravnm13 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Alabama
    Ratings:
    +34
    I prefer Dolphin. But usually when I have to install a system app, I set permissions, install, then reboot. Like with the Play Store. I downloaded the latest one, moved, set, install, reboot. Voila. But I guess it's different in ICS, so idk.

    Sent from my 3rd reincarnation of the ever-so-lovable Droid
     
  6. cobravnm13

    cobravnm13 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Alabama
    Ratings:
    +34
    It feels kinda funny trying to help an SMod. They're supposed to know everything already. ;)

    Sent from my 3rd reincarnation of the ever-so-lovable Droid
     
  7. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    No that's rescue squad. ;)

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
     
  8. rck76

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    Yeah, I've tried dolphin as well. I wonder if someone could make a flashable zip. I have no idea why setting permissions doesn't work. Like you said, maybe ICS is different.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  9. cobravnm13

    cobravnm13 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Alabama
    Ratings:
    +34
    Oh yeah! Lol

    You might be able to have davros make a .zip for you. I'm sure he wouldn't mind.



    Sent from my 3rd reincarnation of the ever-so-lovable Droid
     
  10. rck76

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    I sent him a pm, hopefully he can help. One thing I did notice is that on the stock ROM, every apk file in /system/apps also has an odex file. So browser.apk would have browser.odex to go along with it. For the heck of it, I tried copying over the browser.odex file as well, setting permissions and rebooting but it didn't work. I might be wrong but I'm thinking the browser.apk has to be deodexed somehow since I'm trying to install it on a deodexed ROM. Gingerbread was so much easier to work with, lol.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  11. cobravnm13

    cobravnm13 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Alabama
    Ratings:
    +34
    Yes it is. :) It probably does have something to do with the odex file. But, I'm no dev so I'm not really sure. I hope dav can help.

    Sent from my 3rd reincarnation of the ever-so-lovable Droid
     
  12. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Have you tried pulling browser from a non stock ROM that has been Deodexed?

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
     
  13. rck76

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    Not yet but I will try, hopefully that will work.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
Search tags for this page
bionic browser stock
,
black hole ics for gingerbread
,

blaco hole stock apk

,

browser.odex

,
download browser.apk browser.odex
,
download ics broswer odex
,
ics broswer odex
,

ics browser apk for gingerbread

,

install stock browser gingerbread

,

stock browser.odex jb4.2