1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Is there a way to edit the bootup programs?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Matth3w, Feb 14, 2010.

  1. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Yadda yadda I get it that Linux based systems are better at handling programs in the background, but when the phone boots, it loads a bunch of programs that I rarely use, or at least don't need to load from the getgo, like Flickr, drocap2, two instances of the IM, etc.

    Any way there is like an msconfig type edit you can do to stop these services before they start? Just speculating that it might make the boot up sequence a little faster. I would think even if it puts them into the background, it still has to load them to a certain degree upon initial boot.
  2. lemodular
    Offline

    lemodular New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would be interested to know this too, but in the mean time, I am using Startup Monitor. It's not perfect, but it helps.
  3. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I can understand why you might not want the apps to launch if you don't need them at start up, but the reason you want this is IMHO kind of, well....how can I say this. Let's say unnecessary.

    Is this your first smart phone? If you saw how long it takes a Blackberry Storm to boot up (about 5 minutes) you would think, wow, this sucker just boots so quickly.

    If I'm wrong about other smart phones, I apologize. I understand you have a good deal of knowledge about the Droid. But I don't know how much faster you want the phone to boot up. Seems in your world nothing moves fast enough for you. I get tired just watching you.:D

    Slow down, everything doesn't have to be instantaneous. Droid does a great job of booting up.
  4. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    I've had the MP220 when that was considered a smart phone 5 years ago, to a few others, to the iPhone, the Blackberry Curve, to the G1...to this. Only smart phone I haven't had is the LG enV3. I know it's pretty fast, I just wanted to see if I could make it faster. :)

    Just because my CTS-V goes 0-60 in 4.8 seconds doesn't mean I am satisfied that it takes a full 9/10 of a second faster than my Vette. ;)
  5. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    Mine boots up pretty fast and I'm satisfied :)

    Coming from the Storm, this is something I'm very happy with.....

    We got it pretty fast, but I guess when people have the best, they get tired of it and need something better and faster to keep them occupied until the next faster device.....
  6. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Something like that... :)
  7. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    Don't worry Matth3w, the Nexus will be coming to VZW this year....

    Lol, or you could wait on the Droid2....I'd say it'll be out by the end of this year, who knows ;)
  8. 52brandon
    Offline

    52brandon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'd be curious to know as well. I'm not concerned about start time but JIT seems to give my phone problems initially loading up
  9. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Nah I want the hardware keyboard. The phone is fast enough, I just ran out of other things to mod on it.
  10. MPTP
    Offline

    MPTP New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Autostarts. This program allows you to stop programs loading during and after boot, as well as a number of other different scenarios. You will need root and it also tends to get picky with root access when you start swapping roms around.
  11. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    How much memory does it take up? Worth installing?
  12. MPTP
    Offline

    MPTP New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    It costs about $1 and uses 196KB. I haven't found it terribly useful but for $1 it's not bad.
  13. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    I got it, and it works great for what I wanted, to stop unneeded programs from starting at boot. I meant how much space does it take in RAM or whatever, but it seems to just modify the boot, doesn't seem to load itself into RAM.
  14. MPTP
    Offline

    MPTP New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Oh.. yeah, it doesn't stay in memory :tongue:
  15. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Yeah, I like that. So it's installed. :)
  16. evolushun
    Offline

    evolushun New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Please tell me that the EnV3 remark was a joke?
  17. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    I meant to say that it was the only phone I have had that wasn't a smartphone, oops.
Search tags for this page

edit droid x startup