Is there a unrooted 2.1 update 1

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by krnboixshawn, Jun 18, 2010.

  1. krnboixshawn
    Offline

    krnboixshawn New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there a link or somewhere I can download a unrooted 2.1 update 1. I unrooted my phone back to 2.0.1 but for some reason i'm not getting the OTA update from verizon.

    Thank you
  2. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
  3. krnboixshawn
    Offline

    krnboixshawn New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you tried this. does it work fine. I just want it back to how it was when i got the phone yesterday straight out of the box.
  4. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    That's the way I installed 2.1 in my phone, without root.
  5. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
  6. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    yes, I have, and it was exactly as it was out of the box... it's the same as the OTA, you just do it manually

    i also talked to VZW as well as Motorola, and they (Moto) can place an order to have the OTA sent to your phone, but it takes a few days... I never let it get to that point

    and I simply told them I did a factory reset and it never prompted me for 2.1... I obviously didn't say "yeah I rooted and tried 2.2 and now I'm going back to stock 2.1 but it won't prompt me for the OTA"... ;)

    edit: however, i bought my phone with 2.0.1, so a factory reset sends me back to 2.0.1, not 2.1.... i'm assuming yours probably came with 2.1 on it? regardless, this should get it back to that exactly
  7. krnboixshawn
    Offline

    krnboixshawn New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Under about phone does your phone say 2.1 or 2.1 1 after u did the manual update
  8. dmartins
    Offline

    dmartins Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    That is the link to the OTA directly from androids website.
    After install it should say 2.1 update 1.
  9. krnboixshawn
    Offline

    krnboixshawn New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That is great news thank you all so much. As soon as my wife comes home with the phone ill try it.
  10. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    That's what I'm hoping!

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  11. M Moogle
    Offline

    M Moogle New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Pretty sure a "factory reset" just wipes everything except for /sys. If you run one you'll end up with whatever version of Android you're currently running but in a fresh, blank state, since /data is now empty.

    It's possible Verizon/Google has thought "well, everyone who has a Droid has received 2.1 by now so no need to push the 2.01->2.1 update anymore". I find that sort of unlikely however since any old stock phones that were never used up until this point would be stuck on 2.0 or 2.01 then. I would say that it's probably because 1) something's broken on their end or 2) they're prepping for the 2.2 rollout.