Is there a launcher with phone dialer/contact screen?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by bishop7262, Feb 18, 2010.

  1. bishop7262
    Offline

    bishop7262 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I currently have BB 7.6 and love it. But I do not like the current launcher that goes right into your apps. I had Home++ but uninstalled it because of all the freaking force closes but also my phone runs alot smoother and faster. I loved it though because of the powerstrip.

    I saw a launcher awhile back that had the dialer and contact on the screen. I know the Ultimate Droid ROM has a sweet launcher.
     
  2. Tatootie
    Offline

    Tatootie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use GDE with the Hero ROM, which has the phone and contact built in to every screen. You can also change those to buttons to other things in the menu.
    I know what you mean though. Ive tried alot of different launchers, and home screens, etc. and I keep going back to my good ole faithful GDE because I too love that phone button built in.
     
  3. Big Lou
    Offline

    Big Lou Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just wait for the official 2.1 Droid update. You will have what you wish for. The ROMs allow this because they modify the screen selector buttons as call and browser buttons. Unfortunately, the hacked 2.1 launchers for the Droid are horribly buggy and tend to crash. This should not be a problem with the official 2.1.
     
  4. pthance
    Offline

    pthance Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Download Home++ beta from the market, it has the "Power Strip" available at the bottom which is customizable with phone, contacts, internet, drawer, mms, etc. This is the best home replacement in my opinion.
     
  5. Big Lou
    Offline

    Big Lou Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You didn't even read the OP, did you?
     
  6. pthance
    Offline

    pthance Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lol you got me on that, I missed part of the OP's comlaints. I guess I'd have to change what I said to Home++ beta with SholesMod then, I have no issues (and had similar issues to their complaint on BB ROMs). But you were right, I hadn't had my morning tea and was just skimming through posts when I wrote that. My bad.
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2010
  7. Big Lou
    Offline

    Big Lou Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Haha, it's all good.
     
  8. gotta have that funk
    Offline

    gotta have that funk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok, yes, this is a 2.1 launcher. it does force close if you open the keyboard on a home screen. solution - turn off auto orientation. you dont need it on home screens anyway. everything else..phone, 3d app drawer, and browser button all work perfectly without bugs and faster than any other launcher.

    http://alldroid.org/download/file.php?id=1790

    you might need to register but it's worth it.

    download that zip, rename to apk, put it on the root of your sdcard so its /sdcard/launcher2.apk

    then type this in exactly from adb

    adb shell
    su
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
    cp /sdcard/Launcher2.apk /system/app/Launcher2.apk
    mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
    sync
    reboot

    [​IMG]
     
Search tags for this page

android launcher with dialer

,

do android launchers also change the phone dialer

,

launcher with dialer