1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Is the Droid 3 dead in the water ?

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by Jeeper_Slick, Nov 4, 2011.

  1. Jeeper_Slick
    Offline

    Jeeper_Slick New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I love my D3, but the Locked Bootloader is complete BS. I'm thankful to the guys that got it rooted, but does anyone think we will ever get custom kernels to overclock before the phone becomes a relic ? The HTC Rezound is looking tastey, and its nice the HTC treats you like you actually bought their product, and not like they loaned it to you.
  2. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Custom kernels are reserved for Unlocked Unencrypted Bootloaders, of which the D3 does not have.

    SetCPU works for underclock if you are looking for that.
  3. Jeeper_Slick
    Offline

    Jeeper_Slick New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The HTC Rezound is now definetly, looking better all the time.
  4. Jason R
    Offline

    Jason R New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does this mean we will never over clock the d3

    Sent from my SD3
  5. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Correct. Unfortunately.
  6. Jason R
    Offline

    Jason R New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What a flipping waste

    Sent from my SD3
  7. bonesjones
    Offline

    bonesjones New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I thought motorola promised to unlock the bootloader before the end of 2011?

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk
  8. jaycemiskel
    Offline

    jaycemiskel New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    They said if the carrier allowed. Verizon isn't letting them so our bootloader will be forever locked.

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk
  9. bonesjones
    Offline

    bonesjones New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jeez that's like your mom saying yes you can and you're dad saying no. worse then both saying no

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk
  10. volcanomike
    Offline

    volcanomike New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wrong. The Droid 3 may be overclocked through a kernel module just like the Droid 2 and X
  11. cobravnm13
    Offline

    cobravnm13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,738
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Alabama
    I never understood how the D2 could be overclocked without a custom kernel.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  12. Jason R
    Offline

    Jason R New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That makes me happier

    Sent from my SD3
  13. jjhiza
    Offline

    jjhiza New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I hear the overclock won't survive a reboot though... any truth to this? Even if it is true, it is a step in the right direction (ie. towards a stable, lasting overclock). :)

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  14. rygaul44
    Offline

    rygaul44 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hahahaha seriously? Dead in the water? Hashcode has ICS booting up and he's got the touchscreen working, lol he's working on making it usable now

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  15. jjhiza
    Offline

    jjhiza New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ^^ +1 on that! Since Hash has ICS booting, it's only a matter of time before he and others find a way to get it fully functional, possibly placing the D3 at the "head of the class" so to speak, in terms of ROM development. The only devices with working ICS ports are older devices, but to my knowledge, nobody is really working on a solid project for the Bionic, Atrix, Dx2, etc…I may be wrong, but development on the D3 is far from dead..there are a LOT of good devs working on the device already, and a bunch of nice ROMs to choose from. If you want to check out some of the progress, jump over to xda and rootzwiki. :)

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  16. Jeeper_Slick
    Offline

    Jeeper_Slick New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the update guys. My wife has a new Razr coming. I will be happy to have my D3 OC'd to 1.5 though !
  17. rubiksc00p
    Offline

    rubiksc00p Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,377
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Somewhere on this amazing ball of creation!
    Yeah... I can OC my DX, you just can't install Kernels... I don't know if jrummy's app supports D3 though! =)
  18. Cdjones187
    Offline

    Cdjones187 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Was just about to say the same thing. I stopped following droidforums.net so much after I got my D3. Reason being is because it seems like NO ONE on DF.net knows whats going on with the D3 to the least bit. We have one of THE BEST devolopers (Hashcode) working on our beloved D3 (to the ones that are informed anyway)

    Fun fact, we've been able to overclock since the beginning of November but nothing ever gets posted on these forums anymore....... DF users are about 3 weeks behind or just completely clueless to whats been developing over at XDA and elseware and its been this way since the D3 came out..
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2011
  19. arcanus99
    Offline

    arcanus99 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    Wow... I have a D3 about to arrive today and I have been a devoted follower of "DF" since I first got my OG Droid in 2010! With the awesome support and dedication that the OG had from sooo many amazing devs (AKA Pete Alfonso) I figured that the D3 would be a sweet berry ripe for the plucking... perhaps some more dedicated DF fans should take it upon themselves to make DF a good source for all things D3 root..... **** I just call myself a "devoted follower" .... HA!
  20. UrbanBounca
    Offline

    UrbanBounca Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,188
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Virginia
    That's not necessarily true. You could overclock in Fission by flashing in bootstrap.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
Search tags for this page

overclock xt862