Is she rooted?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Jim 777, Sep 2, 2010.

  1. Jim 777

    Jim 777 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +28
    My neighbor was hating her old messaging phone and after putting up with me rambling about my Droid, and she snuck out behind her husband's back and bought a phone off of CraigsList.

    It's a HTC Aria from some guy who claimed to be a repairman (unassumingly a phone repairman). It looks brand new and she made him put her sdcard in and show her that "everything" worked.

    So I'm looking at it, trying to keep myself under control from suggesting everything under the sun, when I notice SuperUser app.

    I downloaded Astro and was able to navigate to /system/app and I got only as far as long pressing an apk and get the pop-up.

    So, is the phone rooted? what else can I do quickly to check?
     
  2. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    download a root app (wireless tether, drocap, autokiller, something thats free) and see if it can run.
     
  3. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Put a terminal emulator on it and type in SU.

    If the prompt changes to a # you're rooted.
     
  4. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    that takes more time than what i suggested dancedroid
     
  5. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    True...

    But doesn't clutter the phone up with random screen shots. ;)
     
  6. Jim 777

    Jim 777 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +28
    I finally got my hands on it again and went with the TE and sure enough, got the # sign and the pop up saying that TE was granted super user permissions.

    I informed her to not leave her phone lying around me for any length of time

    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
  7. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    She Haz Rootz! Awezome!

    Thanks for getting back to us. I'd forgotten totally about this one. :)
     
  8. Jim 777

    Jim 777 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +28
    Sorry to bring this to the top but tonight I was trying to install wireless tether and found that I can't install from the sdcard. A bit of googling showed that it is a down side of the aria, not installing apps not from the market.

    I installed Root Explorer thinking I could paste the apk in to the /system/app folder but it goes through the motions, but in the end there's no apk pasted in. Also there's a butt load of files with the .odex extensions.

    I thought maybe using TE to move in files from the sdcard, but I'm not sure what the proper coding is (she's on 2.1 Update 1) and don't want to mess up her phone.

    Any ideas? I installed ROM Manager so I have a back up done. Would love to get some of the good root apps running.
     
  9. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    There are tethering apps on the market. They don't show up because she is on at & t. Terminal commands might not be any more effective than root explorer, but it would be worth trying.

    I will try to get them for you tomorrow. :)

    This came from my brain by way of my finger and my phone. Don't ask where any of them have been. Especially the brain.
     
  10. Jim 777

    Jim 777 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +28
    Thanks, anything is appreciated. Weird that I can't paste in to phone folders. Even more crappy that they took out the ability to install apps from outside the market.
     
  11. Jim 777

    Jim 777 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +28
    something I thought of when I woke this morning, being that the aria is AT&T and a GSM phone, am i accurate in assuming that apps for my Droid are written differently and therefore will not work on a GSM phone???
     
  12. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Only ones that require CDMA or Verizon specifically. Droid is as Droid does. :)