Is Overclocking at 1200 dangerous to my phone?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by steveomatic, Feb 18, 2010.

  1. steveomatic

    steveomatic Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have been running Sholes 2.5 and overclocking at 1000 for a few days with no issues. If I up it to 1200 are there any concerns? Will this hurt my phone over time?

    Than ks Yo!:lifting:
     
  2. bamfsig45

    bamfsig45 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    883
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    ICT
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is your phone running good right now?? If yes then leave it alone is my opinion. Keep pushing and pushing you will end up with issues. Im at 950 on Bugless beast and my droid runs flawless. I will only upgrade to a new rom if it benefits the look and feel not because I can now clock to 2.76666 ghz haha
     
  3. Big Lou

    Big Lou Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, it is not dangerous.
     
  4. bamfsig45

    bamfsig45 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    883
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    ICT
    Ratings:
    +0

    facts? Not trying to argue but simply saying "no it is not dangerous" IMO is not the proper way. Post some links to threads/evidence of such findings, or your certificate of expertise.
     
  5. Mr. Premium

    Mr. Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does overclocking kill the overall life of the processor?
     
  6. Shmooze

    Shmooze Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    1ghz is more than what's needed for day to day usage. I'm at 1ghz constantly with no issues but I will never go beyond without installing setcpu. Stick with 1ghz if you're a noob like me.
     
  7. Big Lou

    Big Lou Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Modern processors are not harmed by overclocking. You aren't altering the voltage, just the multiplier. If anything, the Droid will not boot or may act funny, but once you revert back to a slower clock speed, it will be fine (and that's for higher speeds, mind you).

    Anything up to 1.3 is tested to work fine on the Droid. Heat may rise but the OMAP3 is rated to around 200 degrees Fahrenheit. You won't be getting anywhere near that, and in case you do, you can always set SetCPU to roll back the clock speed automatically.
     
  8. bL33d

    bL33d Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    illinois
    Ratings:
    +0
    Probably not but why in the hell would anyone need anything higher then 1ghz...
     
  9. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,262
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    Just because..... Plus it ticks off the iPhone guys to no end. :icon_ banana:
     
  10. magnus

    magnus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Big Lou...did you mean, "if anything, the DROID WILL boot or act funny?..."

    That has been my experince.,....BB7.5 1000 was running flawless.....then 7.6 came along and I have boot loops and funny business all over......even 1000 is not super stable.....so it might have to do with the Rom itself and not just the speed.

    But to the OP.

    I don't think anybody can answer your question but YOU...and that by trying it out and here's why......

    Different chips are created differently. Minute variations in the manufacturing process can lead to some chips capable of higher speeds and some lower. (I am an engineer in the chip manufacturing business) It's pretty obvious that some people's droids can handle 1300, whereas mine seems to crap out above 1000. Some people have had issues above 800.

    Motorola looks at the chip capabilities and other things like battery life etc......and has to find a happy medium between a lot of conflicting things and so they ultimately decided on 550Mhz for the general user.

    An educated user can play with it a little bit more and decide what trade-offs he or she wants. For one.....I would watch my temperatures closely.....when I over clock....as I am going outside Motorola's test and research and so we don't know how the phones will behave. Each phone will behave slightly different.

    Like Big Lou said......try it......the worst that can happen is you have to dial back the CPU speed or if not you can always do a nandroid restore.

    I would think you have to do a whole lot more to do permanent hardware damage.

    NOW, one question I would not be able to answer is "Would running at elevated temperatures reduce the overall life of the chip?" I would guess probably.......but the question is what is that life? If it reduces it from 7 years to 5 years, then its not a huge problem as most people don't keep phones that long. If it reduced it from 3 years to 6 months......that is a problem.
    Right now.....I have not heard about a SINGLE case of permanent hardware damage inflicted on the phone.....BUT then again the phone has only been out for 3 months...
    We do NOT have any data on the long term effects of overclocking.......for good or bad. Motorola might have some mortality numbers, but they have not released this info.

    I would suggest keeping an eye on temperatures and finding out for yourself.

    Good Luck

    EDIT: Big Lou ignore...my first line...I got it
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2010
  11. cisco0910

    cisco0910 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    don't feel like looking it up...what's iphones cpu set at? and can they overclock if jailbroke? (never owned an iphone)
     
  12. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    600mhz and no overclocking.
     
  13. cisco0910

    cisco0910 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    cool, thanks. Good ammunition for argument purposes.
     
  14. srt4mn

    srt4mn Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    MN
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am on BB 7.6 running 1.2ghz and no issues whatsoever, never had a FC yet and installed it last night. Very smooth. Try wiping your phone and installing from scratch, something is messed up.
     
  15. mth04

    mth04 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,927
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    the simple answer here is of course it can hurt your phone and void your warranty. Any other answer is wrong. By doing it you take your chances. I am not saying it will destroy the phone, but there is a good reason Moto had is set where it was.
     
Search tags for this page
danger overclock android
,
dvfs
,

is it bad to overclock your phone

,
is+overclocking+dangerous android
,
s4 galaxy 40.7 celsius
,
what is overclocking a phone