Is my phone bricked?!?!

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by tiffwatson7, Dec 9, 2010.

  1. tiffwatson7

    tiffwatson7 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I just rooted the phone, and got bugless beast through rom manager. After it did the instalation of bugless beast, it rebooted and I got excited when I saw the new red eye that the custom rom gave me! That excitement only lasted a few seconds, because then I realized it was showing the droid logo, then the red eye (which then sort of froze), and then it would show the droid logo and red eye all over again, over and over. It won't go past this or even get to the lock screen. Is it bricked? If so, what do I do? I need my phone, please help!
     
  2. tiffwatson7

    tiffwatson7 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I pressed x in order to get into the clockworkmod recovery, and pressed reboot now, and that doesn't work. I'm not sure what the other options do so I didn't want to press them. These are the other options.. (apply sdcard:update.zip, wipe data/factory reset, wipe cache partition, install zip rom sdcard, nandroid, partitions menu, advanced)
     
  3. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +64
    try doing the wipe data and the wipe cache options, anytime you flash a new Rom unless told not to, you should wipe data and cache, try those things and report back.
     
  4. bthomp21

    bthomp21 Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    bricked means basically what is sounds like, your phone is as good as a brick..dead...nada. so no its not.

    something went wrong, just do what onetender said.
     
  5. skatingrocker17

    skatingrocker17 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    No your phones not bricked. Even if it was you can fix it sometimes.
     
  6. tiffwatson7

    tiffwatson7 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow, thanks! I am at least able to get into the phone! Now I think when I went through the process it asked me to restore all my data, but now that I had to clear data everything is gone. But it does have that superuser app (what exactly is that? lol).

    I'm really new to this rooting thing (as you can probably guess!). Is there a way to get all my data back if it was restored, or since everything is gone now, does that mean I can't get everything back?
     
  7. bthomp21

    bthomp21 Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    superuser means complete access to your phone. like you know how windows needs administrator to install some stuff, its basically that.
     
  8. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +64
    Your apps and stuff should sync back, if by chance they don't, go to the market and go to the market download section, they should all be there. Your contacts should also sync back. Now that you are rooted you will want to get an app like mybackup pro or titanium backup pro so you can restore data anytime you flash a new rom.
     
  9. tiffwatson7

    tiffwatson7 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Only the one app that I purchased (and didn't download free) is still there. Everything else is gone =[. So, I'm pretty much screwed n have to get everything back, huh? lol at least I can get a backup thing now =/
     
  10. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +64
    give it some time the free apps may sync back. But from now on it will be much easier. I generally back up my apps once a week just to keep the data up to date in the backups.
     
  11. tiffwatson7

    tiffwatson7 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok so just backup periodically to one of the backup apps you told me to download? Also, why update to different roms in the future; what does that do?
     
  12. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +64
    Yep, just download one of those apps and backup apps and data.

    Dev's like to update their Rom's to include new features and things like that. We have an incredible group of dev's here and they all do excellent work and update their rom's frequently to ensure they run the best they possibly can.