Is my phone bricked? Help

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by hondabomdc5, May 15, 2010.

  1. hondabomdc5

    hondabomdc5 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +1
    MAJOR PROBLEM. i was hiking today, and i used my droids gps to get to the location, took some pictures, and put my phone back in my pocket. My phone had like 20 percent battery life left on it when i looked at it last. I then took it out of my pocket and it was just sitting at the "M" , as if i had turned it off and then back on. I put it in the car and connected it to the charger. Well, when i turn it on, it is stuck at the M . It wont go past there. Is my phone bricked, and what can i do to fix it or get it working properly.
     
  2. mikeofmikes83

    mikeofmikes83 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    stock or rooted?

    Try booting into recovery: Turn off your phone > open the slider > hold the X key while turning on the power.

    From there you should return it to either A) a backup or B) factory reset
     
  3. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Let it charge for a long time, car chargers don't put out as much juice as an AC charger.
     
  4. hondabomdc5

    hondabomdc5 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +1
    im rooted, and i went into recovery, but if i do a factory reset, what exactly will happen? Will all my apps be gone? will i still be rooted? will all my files be deleted?
     
  5. Mbk

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,167
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +4
    You don't have any nandroid back-ups?
     
  6. mikeofmikes83

    mikeofmikes83 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you factory reset then you will half to reinstall your apps, unless you backed them up before hand with a program like titanium backup? If you did, then its not a problem, you'll have all your apps backed up to your SD card; if not then you'll have to reinstall and configure all your apps...go to market, hit the menu key, go to downloads they should be listed there.
    First and foremost though, if your rooted, then you definitely have backups. Go to manage/restore backups and reinstall the closest dated stable backup that you have. Even if its old, a working phone that you have to reconfigure beats a tricked out phone that wont start.

    Rule #1 when dealing with technology of any kind: backup, backup, backup, then backup your backups... lol
     
  7. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,150
    Likes Received:
    217
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +222
    Your battery died. Plug it into wall charger over night should boot up in the morning.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  8. hondabomdc5

    hondabomdc5 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +1
    I appreciate your help bro, i am going to bed now, to tired to do all that now, i will try it tomorrow. but again, thanks alot
    im hoping your right, i have it plugged in to the wall now, but its still stuck on the M
     
  9. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,150
    Likes Received:
    217
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +222
    Its too weak to boot....so it gets stuck at the M. Give it time and you should be fine.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  10. hondabomdc5

    hondabomdc5 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +1
    well, i have let it charge all night..........and the same thing is happening. Still getting stuck at the M
     
  11. hondabomdc5

    hondabomdc5 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +1
    i tried leaving the battery out for awhile, i tried to do a restore, and it is still stuck at the stupid M . i guess now im going to try to do a factory reset. Im hoping that it wont unroot my phone.
     
  12. mikeofmikes83

    mikeofmikes83 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Let us know what happens. :) before doing a factory reset try restoring one of your backups. Sprecovery and nandroid both autoback up before they do their business. Hope you get this message before you jump to a factory reset
     
  13. hondabomdc5

    hondabomdc5 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +1
    SO, i did the nandorid restore, and that didnt work, so then my final option was to do a factory reset, and it worked. My phone finally turned on. Well, now i have some more issues. All my apps are gone, and i know that i can get them back by going to the market and selecting the "my downloads" tab.

    But i have a promlem with force closes, to the extent that i cant really do alot on my phone. Ever ten seconds or so, it says : "The application HTC_IME mod ( process jonasl.ime) has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again." I dont know what that is or how to fix/avoid it. And whenever i touch the screen on the phone it says that. Pretty annoying. Also, i went to the market to try to get like astro and some of my other apps, and when i try to download an app, i hit install, and then it goes to another page, but its all blank and i have like no other options that you usually get when your downloading an app. So now i cant download any apps at all.

    One last thing that i have noticed so far, i thought facebook was like an app that came stock, but its not in my app drawer, and when i searched in the market, i cant find the stock facebook app. So if yall could be of any help to me i would greatly appreciate it. It sucks having my phone where it barely runs.
     
  14. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    HTC IME is a keyboard, that was ported to the droid. The stock FB app is called Facebook for android, in the market.
     
  15. nlinecomputers

    nlinecomputers Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just reroot your phone, install sprecovery and then restore from your nandroid backup.
     
Search tags for this page
brick android ime
,
bricked my galaxy s4
,
help i bricked my galaxy s4
,
htc ime mod has stopped
,

lg ime has stopped

,

process com.android.inputmethod.xim

,
what happen if galaxy s4 is bricked