Is my phone bricked? Help

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by hondabomdc5, May 15, 2010.

  1. hondabomdc5
    Offline

    hondabomdc5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    MAJOR PROBLEM. i was hiking today, and i used my droids gps to get to the location, took some pictures, and put my phone back in my pocket. My phone had like 20 percent battery life left on it when i looked at it last. I then took it out of my pocket and it was just sitting at the "M" , as if i had turned it off and then back on. I put it in the car and connected it to the charger. Well, when i turn it on, it is stuck at the M . It wont go past there. Is my phone bricked, and what can i do to fix it or get it working properly.
  2. mikeofmikes83
    Offline

    mikeofmikes83 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    stock or rooted?

    Try booting into recovery: Turn off your phone > open the slider > hold the X key while turning on the power.

    From there you should return it to either A) a backup or B) factory reset
  3. JCo352
    Offline

    JCo352 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Let it charge for a long time, car chargers don't put out as much juice as an AC charger.
  4. hondabomdc5
    Offline

    hondabomdc5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    im rooted, and i went into recovery, but if i do a factory reset, what exactly will happen? Will all my apps be gone? will i still be rooted? will all my files be deleted?
  5. Mbk
    Offline

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,169
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You don't have any nandroid back-ups?
  6. mikeofmikes83
    Offline

    mikeofmikes83 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you factory reset then you will half to reinstall your apps, unless you backed them up before hand with a program like titanium backup? If you did, then its not a problem, you'll have all your apps backed up to your SD card; if not then you'll have to reinstall and configure all your apps...go to market, hit the menu key, go to downloads they should be listed there.
    First and foremost though, if your rooted, then you definitely have backups. Go to manage/restore backups and reinstall the closest dated stable backup that you have. Even if its old, a working phone that you have to reconfigure beats a tricked out phone that wont start.

    Rule #1 when dealing with technology of any kind: backup, backup, backup, then backup your backups... lol
  7. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,074
    Likes Received:
    134
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Your battery died. Plug it into wall charger over night should boot up in the morning.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  8. hondabomdc5
    Offline

    hondabomdc5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    I appreciate your help bro, i am going to bed now, to tired to do all that now, i will try it tomorrow. but again, thanks alot
    im hoping your right, i have it plugged in to the wall now, but its still stuck on the M
  9. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,074
    Likes Received:
    134
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Its too weak to boot....so it gets stuck at the M. Give it time and you should be fine.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  10. hondabomdc5
    Offline

    hondabomdc5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    well, i have let it charge all night..........and the same thing is happening. Still getting stuck at the M
  11. hondabomdc5
    Offline

    hondabomdc5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    i tried leaving the battery out for awhile, i tried to do a restore, and it is still stuck at the stupid M . i guess now im going to try to do a factory reset. Im hoping that it wont unroot my phone.
  12. mikeofmikes83
    Offline

    mikeofmikes83 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Let us know what happens. :) before doing a factory reset try restoring one of your backups. Sprecovery and nandroid both autoback up before they do their business. Hope you get this message before you jump to a factory reset
  13. hondabomdc5
    Offline

    hondabomdc5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    SO, i did the nandorid restore, and that didnt work, so then my final option was to do a factory reset, and it worked. My phone finally turned on. Well, now i have some more issues. All my apps are gone, and i know that i can get them back by going to the market and selecting the "my downloads" tab.

    But i have a promlem with force closes, to the extent that i cant really do alot on my phone. Ever ten seconds or so, it says : "The application HTC_IME mod ( process jonasl.ime) has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again." I dont know what that is or how to fix/avoid it. And whenever i touch the screen on the phone it says that. Pretty annoying. Also, i went to the market to try to get like astro and some of my other apps, and when i try to download an app, i hit install, and then it goes to another page, but its all blank and i have like no other options that you usually get when your downloading an app. So now i cant download any apps at all.

    One last thing that i have noticed so far, i thought facebook was like an app that came stock, but its not in my app drawer, and when i searched in the market, i cant find the stock facebook app. So if yall could be of any help to me i would greatly appreciate it. It sucks having my phone where it barely runs.
  14. JCo352
    Offline

    JCo352 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    HTC IME is a keyboard, that was ported to the droid. The stock FB app is called Facebook for android, in the market.
  15. nlinecomputers
    Offline

    nlinecomputers New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Just reroot your phone, install sprecovery and then restore from your nandroid backup.
  16. hondabomdc5
    Offline

    hondabomdc5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    ok, i found the stock FB app.. But i still cant download any apps. Like i said in my previous post, after i hit "install" , it goes to another screen that is just blank. Also, how do i get rid of the htc_ime keyboard thing that is messing my phone up?
  17. mikeofmikes83
    Offline

    mikeofmikes83 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone feel free to correct me, but HTC_IME is the htc keyboard software ported over to droid? Sounds like you still have chunks of previous software still installed on your phone. Doing the factory reset probably only reset things that came stock, and when it got to this software it did nothing, or left parts of it still intact. If you reflash your phone to stock now non rooted now, you should be able to get back functionality. Once you've got full functionality back, you should be able to reroot and start over. These phones are tanks as far as software goes, so since you can get your phone up (assuming theirs no hardware issues) we should be able to get you back on track and running again.
  18. mikeofmikes83
    Offline

    mikeofmikes83 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    lol you beat me to it
  19. JCo352
    Offline

    JCo352 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I'm not suggesting this, but if it was me I would flash the 2.0.1 sbf with RSD Lite. That would make sure EVERYTHING is totally stock, like having a brand new phone, and root it from there.
  20. hondabomdc5
    Offline

    hondabomdc5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    well i finally was able to download astro. So i went into my download folder, and i deleted all of the htc_ime files that i saw in there. I was still getting some force closes, so im going to restart my phone now and see what happens. Im hoping this works because i really dont want to have to go through the whole unrooting and rerooting process. I will let you know shortly what happens.
Search tags for this page
brick android ime
,
bricked my galaxy s4
,
help i bricked my galaxy s4
,
htc ime mod has stopped
,

lg ime has stopped

,

process com.android.inputmethod.xim

,
what happen if galaxy s4 is bricked