Is my droid already rooted?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by tmoney2007, Mar 18, 2010.

  1. tmoney2007

    tmoney2007 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello all

    I bought a droid on ebay and it showed up today. I was considering rooting it and installing a custom rom, but when I started it up I found that the superuser permissions app is already installed.

    Does this mean my droid is already rooted?
    If not, is there a way to find out what was done?
    If it is, does this mean I can go straight into installing a custom rom and all the other fun stuff?
     
  2. TekHawk

    TekHawk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Yuba ****ty, California
    Ratings:
    +0
    it seems to be rooted reboot the phone while holding x and see if SPRecovery loads
     
  3. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you have the ninja it is rooted
     
  4. tmoney2007

    tmoney2007 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The top of the screen says "Android system recovery <2e>" at the top.

    If so, where do I start if I want to load a rom? Will I be able to get back to this point (the phone works) if something screws up?
     
  5. TekHawk

    TekHawk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Yuba ****ty, California
    Ratings:
    +0
    download DroidMod Updater from droidmod.org that will make sure ytour rooted then install the recovery image you need to use to apply roms
     
  6. tmoney2007

    tmoney2007 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got it all figured out. Thanks!

    Running Bugless Beast 0.8 as we speak.
     
  7. icculusX

    icculusX Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    The Moon
    Ratings:
    +0
    haha what an unscrupulous seller, selling off a rooted phone without saying that...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 18, 2010
  8. TekHawk

    TekHawk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Yuba ****ty, California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nice choice in roms :) did you apply the theme update.zip yet
     
  9. tmoney2007

    tmoney2007 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Agreed... luckily it turned out ok. I may leave him neutral feedback... I dunno.

    Nice ninja edit, BTW.
     
Search tags for this page
if i have cyanogenmod on my motorola zoom is it already root
,

rooted vs non rooted