is miui on gb kernel yet?

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Roms' started by hockeyhead019, Sep 22, 2011.

  1. hockeyhead019
    Offline

    hockeyhead019 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Right outside Philly
    Just curious since I didn't feel like flashing back to froyo... love the rom just felt the need to change things up some since we hadn't gotten an update in a while but alas literally two days after i flash cm7 we get an update haha wtf?? lol

    Anyways what is the deal GB or not?

    Cheers!
  2. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    EDIT: My bad. I am not sure about the D2 version. I thought I clicked on the DX forum! I am going to look now for you!

    EDIT2: It looks like it is not. Sorry. The latest version I see is 1.9.9 and it still says froyo kernel.
  3. UrbanBounca
    Online

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,281
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Virginia
    Can someone simply port the latest MIUI to the D2? I don't care much for MIUI on GB right now, as it won't be stable for awhile anyway.
  4. HavoC
    Offline

    HavoC New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    MIUI has been ported to the droid 2, not sure what version it is but it does run on the froyo kernel

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  5. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
  6. Bassaholic33
    Offline

    Bassaholic33 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry Bud, but this is totally incorrect. MIUI is now on GB Kernel. You can find it in Rom Manager and here MIUI.us UNITED WORLDWIDE - ROM Downloads. Yes this works with OTA update.
  7. jwezesa
    Offline

    jwezesa New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Flashed this rom this morning. Real quick and stable. Jakesmods work just fine. No troubles. 60% battery after 5 hours with a lot of use and downloading. So far battery seems about the same as cm7gb

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
  8. ugandanbear
    Offline

    ugandanbear New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I have a couple of questions: What version of Jakesmods are you using? And while using it, can you get superuser permission on all apps that ask for it?
  9. jwezesa
    Offline

    jwezesa New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    V9. Since the install of Jake's mods it appears that I lost root. Titanium backup and rom manager can't access root. Root check says I'm not rooted. Not at a PC till tomorrow so I can't re-root ATM.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
  10. ugandanbear
    Offline

    ugandanbear New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    That sucks. Yeah, I had issues with Jakesmods losing my su privileges. I didn't know if it was fixed somehow.
  11. TheSwaggeR
    Offline

    TheSwaggeR New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It is most likely due to busybox being modified or no longer in /system/bin or /system/xbin. Without access to Root Explorer, it's unclear if busybox and su are still in one of those folders. What you'll need to do is get the latest version of Superuser and you will need to go through the Settings, on that app, and enable Root. Once you do that, you can then open up Root Explorer and check on su and busybox. You can also go ahead and get fresh copies of su and busybox and delete the old copies that were in /system/bin or /system/xbin (since I don't know if they were modified at all) and place the fresh copies of su and busybox in there. It doesn't appear to matter if it is placed in either folder. On my D2, it's placed in the /system/xbin.

    **EDIT: Forgot to say, if you have any Superuser.apk (app) then get rid of them. For some reason I had more than 2 (older version and latest version) Superuser apps. I found 3 previous versions which seemed to have been causing issues to allow the latest version to install. So get rid of all of them, get the newest version from the Market.
  12. hond2
    Offline

    hond2 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mostly gree with theSwaggeR. I didnt need 1 from market, but definately make sure you don't have multiple versions!
    Remember..
    THEN you have to physically go into the stock su app and toggle root to on. Root is OFF by default within the app. Actually a good security feature, just took a while to find. You are looking for Superuser with an icon that looks like a certificate with ribbon or award. Toggle inside that one.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  13. jwezesa
    Offline

    jwezesa New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Simply downloaded superuser from the market. It updated. I cleared any root programs data. Ran the program. Bam root access granted!

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
  14. jamba7
    Offline

    jamba7 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For some reason my music and photos aren't showing up on this rom. Any ideas how to fix that?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  15. hockeyhead019
    Offline

    hockeyhead019 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Right outside Philly
    I should be able to put this over CM7 then correct? I miss MIUI feel... alot lol. Is the MIUI updater working or do we still have to wait for it to be ported?
  16. jwezesa
    Offline

    jwezesa New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just wipe data/cache and install right over cm7. It is for gb ota.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
  17. hockeyhead019
    Offline

    hockeyhead019 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Right outside Philly
    ok cool...

    so my other question is what's the deal with updating? I haven't seen framework tweeting about working on it at all... are we going to get any updates through the miui updater thing? or do we have to wait for somebody to port it and then flash it again?
  18. hond2
    Offline

    hond2 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Check out Miui.us
    The root issue is not a problem that needs to be updated. Its a new feature according to the changelog!
    Look for :
    UPDATE NOTICE: Superuser Permissions need to be enabled via Superuser.apk menu enable superuser Permissions. (Superuser is found in Tools folder)

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  19. Bassaholic33
    Offline

    Bassaholic33 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes. aceoyame said he will be porting it since its very similar to D2G. Make sure you give him many thanks. :)
  20. Montecarlo97z
    Offline

    Montecarlo97z New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    in miui root permission is defaulted off u have to manually turn it on
Search tags for this page

s3 miui slow charge