Is it worth rooting?

Discussion in 'Samsung Fascinate Development' started by eriscrazy, Jan 20, 2011.

  1. eriscrazy
    Offline

    eriscrazy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Good ol alabama
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is it really worth rooting because there is no chance in us getting the OTA 2.2. And is rooting reliable for the fascinate because I don't want to brick my phone. I had a rooted Eris and rommed but it has been around for a long time.

    Sent from my fascinate using DroidForums App
     
  2. TAPOUT27
    Offline

    TAPOUT27 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    BRENTWOOD, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes its worth it....its easy...you can find several tutorials with easy rooting methods and 1 click root methods...check here or over on XDA
     
  3. Sele
    Offline

    Sele T-Bolt RS Team Leader Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    As Tapout said, yes it is definately worth it. If you have had experience rooting your Eris you will have no issues with the Fascinate. Rooting the Fascinate is stable and unless you do something totally stupid you will not brick your phone.

    Also if you would like more info on Fascinate check out droidforums sister site fascinateforums. Link is also in my signature.
     
  4. eriscrazy
    Offline

    eriscrazy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Good ol alabama
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea I think that I'm going to root my phone I'm fine with stock it runs great unjust want the perks of a rooted device but I would not mind overclocking it is that even possible on the fascinate?

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  5. eriscrazy
    Offline

    eriscrazy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Good ol alabama
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can someone link the best one click rooting process

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  6. TAPOUT27
    Offline

    TAPOUT27 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    BRENTWOOD, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    R u running DL09? If so there are several rooting guides here in Fascinate Development section that will walk u thru it

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using Tapatalk
     
  7. eriscrazy
    Offline

    eriscrazy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Good ol alabama
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes I am running DL09 and all the one click methods I have tried have failed

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  8. TAPOUT27
    Offline

    TAPOUT27 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    BRENTWOOD, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm...ive used several of the one click methods repeadedly....head over to XDA and see if those are more help


    Sent from my SCH-I500 using Tapatalk
     
  9. eriscrazy
    Offline

    eriscrazy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Good ol alabama
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ill link the ways I did but it always says device not connected. I have installed and uninstalled the drivers 3 or so times and still the same thing.

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  10. Trype
    Offline

    Trype New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Note, I don't think there's a ROM to get you Froyo for the Fascinate. I rooted mine specifically to get Adobe Flash Player, but I can't find a ROM, Kernal, or whatever to get Flash working. Anyone know of what I need, please let me know.
     
  11. TAPOUT27
    Offline

    TAPOUT27 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    BRENTWOOD, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alpha builds of Froyo for Fascinate

    [ROM] Vanilla Froyo v0.1 - xda-developers or here http://www.droidforums.net/forum/samsung-fascinate-development/117826-rom-vanilla-froyo-v0-1-a.html

    and Kaosinate Alpha Froyo build...

    [ROM] [ALPHA] [FROYO] Kaoscinate V3 - xda-developers or here http://www.droidforums.net/forum/sa...ent/116505-rom-alpha-froyo-kaoscinate-v2.html

    these are not final obviously and still have kinks to work out etc...hence the ALPHA status but you could run them as daily drivers if you dont need camera/gps etc lol.....these are not for noobs...read carefully
     
  12. hoppermi
    Offline

    hoppermi Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You need Froyo for flash to work.
     
  13. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    I've been rooted since January of 2010 and hacked other prior phones and my answer to the question as stated in the thread title (Is it worth rooting?) has always been: "If you ask that question, then the answer is No".
     
  14. eriscrazy
    Offline

    eriscrazy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Good ol alabama
    Ratings:
    +0
    Reason I ask if it is worth rooting the fascinate is because I'm one of the ones still waiting for the 2.2 OTA

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  15. TAPOUT27
    Offline

    TAPOUT27 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    BRENTWOOD, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    The 2.2 update is iffy...something always happens and it gets delayed...besides you can always un root

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using Tapatalk
     
Search tags for this page

fascinateforums.com