Is it wierd that i am able to run google Earthe When rooted?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by bobmundo123, Mar 14, 2010.

  1. bobmundo123

    bobmundo123 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought this was a non-root app only? hmm
     
  2. jasonb

    jasonb Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its a 2.1 only app.
     
  3. RobertDroid

    RobertDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've never heard of anything that you could only run if NOT rooted. Root gives you extra capabilities, but you don't lose anything.
     
  4. pyro6128

    pyro6128 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,517
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +8
    so in summary, its actually the complete opposite of weird.
     
  5. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    IIRC Google Earth was available for rooted phones before it was available for stock.
     
  6. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    Only because those rooted phones could have their build.prop modified to see it in the market.
     
  7. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    I thought it was because only rooted phones could access enough hardware to make it work. I thought all phones could see it in the market. I believe you, I'm often wrong.
     
  8. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    Nah. Its listed in the market as a 2.1 only app. Therefore, its not possible to see it unless your build.prop has been modified from sdk 6(2.0.1) to 7(2.1). This is only possible on, wait for it....rooted phones or those that have 2.1 already (Nexus One). :)
     
  9. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    Cool, you learn something every day.
     
  10. Zargon

    Zargon Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    :icon_ laughup: