Is it safe to buy a rooted android?

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by greencell, Jan 4, 2014.

1. greencell

greencell New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    I was hoping someone could help me. I'm new to smartphones and I found a samsung galaxy nexus android I want to purchase. The only thing is, it's rooted. I seem to read a lot of pro's and con's about this. My main concern is security and the ability to get software updates. Is it a bad idea to buy a used rooted phone? If the person who's selling it to me wasn't careful with their security after they rooted the phone, could I end up with malicious malware on my phone? And is there any way I can unroot the phone?

Any help on this is much appreciated.

2. dezymond

dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

Ratings:
    +1,670
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    If you are asking about a Verizon Galaxy Nexus, I wouldn't worry about updates, that phone wasn't supported very well even during its life cycle. I've sold many and bought a few rooted phones and never had any issues. I root every phone I have as well for specific apps, but never had any issues with my information being compromised. Majority of the time people factory reset their phone before selling it as well.

As for malicious software, it does exist, but it's not very common on phones. A factory reset should take care of anything as well. And yes, there are plenty of ways to unroot the phone, but root itself shouldn't interfere with anything except for updates, which the Galaxy Nexus never really had support for in the first place.

3. greencell

greencell New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Dezy, is the factory reset something I could do fairly easy with no extra cost? I'm a true novice with phones.

4. dezymond

Ratings:
    +1,670
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel